A detox and return to Social Media

in #steemit7 years ago

It has been a month for me here on Steemit and it has been wonderful. Just as exciting as it has been on the other answer to a social media sickness. Like Steemit is to reddit (never been on reddit), Minds.com is to Facebook, and boy oh boy if you don't know what Minds.com is, I encourage you to check it out. It built somewhat like a mix of Facebook and twitter. I'm not here to for self promotion, good platforms sell themselves so go check it out. I'm here to talk about a journey rather. My journey from dumping Facebook and finding the next level.

https://d2isvgrdif6ua5.cloudfront.net/cinemr_com/659537183757049871/720.mp4

I see social media giants like Facebook, twitter and reddit as a giant sink hole of time. Now putting aside ways to keep intouch with family is not what I'm getting at, I know plenty of people where that is the only reason they have it and that is fine. I'm getting at where they try to influence narratives and shut peoples opinions down or even report them to the authorities for thought crimes (I'm looking at you EU). Now I'm not against a platform using their influence to promote their ideas, that is whole idea! But it doesn't mean those ideas aren't subject to criticism. On top of that when you are being sneaky about it, and try to silence those around you is when you over step boundaries. My wife and I finally found a way to "permanently" delete our accounts and it was the best thing we did. We even did it before the elections last year took place!

Well time past, and I was still rather involved in politics and several content creators on YouTube. And well, thanks to Dave Cullen at Computing Forever I learned about Minds.com and it was a breath of fresh air. A social media platform similar to Facebook, but with intelligent people! There is a lot I've learned from there and finding new people.

Now still being new to this social media game as I never really knew how to work things from a networking angle, I was still able to accumulate almost 250 followers in a short time. I've been distracted of late, but plan to return in full force as the platform continues to climb! And now here, Steemit. Money aside, I'm feeling the same as I did on Minds and finding new people, similar thinkers and new ideas. Times are getting tough on the internet, and in the world at large, but that means that going is good to produce another round of great people. And I'm sure it is here that things can start. So let's get going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39