Does Number of Followers Mean Anything to Your Blog???

in #steemit7 years ago


There is a BIG CONCERN that everyone might has right now. You might ask yourself, does having hundreds or thousands of followers mean anything to your blogging. Do you think you will get at least half of your followers to view and vote on your creative posts? What about those who just start the account and follow hundreds of people, hoping that they follow back and view the post, do you think that it would happen this way? Why are some have so many followers but have less views and earn less on their posts? Do you think that your followers really interested in your topic and want to look at your posts or are they just wanting your benefits or just for fame?

I followed more than 1100 people in this community and have more than 300 followers, but have at most about 10 views on my best post. Don't get me wrong, it could be because my posts are not interesting or catchy, but I really have the faith for this community and put a lot of work into it as well.

I saw people celebrating when they reach certain number of followers, and gave out free steem dollars to those who help to vote, follow, and resteem. I also joined a few of those. But the question is do you think that those people who vote, follow, and resteem will come and read your post again?

There are more than a thousand people I followed right now, and I am going to follow more people and make more friends. At the same time, I am concerning at the number of views I get that does not correlates with the number of people I followed. I am also in steemchat and there were people who sent me their articles to read and help upvoting them because they did not get much views from their followers, and people they follow. I did clicked on their posts and helped them because I think they deserved it since they put a lot of effort and also have the same faith for this community like me.

In contrast, I've seen some accounts that have more followers than the people they follow and be successful.

On the other hand, some people rush to comment and upvote on the article that is posted by someone who is very successful. I am not saying that you shouldn't do it, but I see that it is unbalance because there are authors who are happy to follows thousand of people and get less views. Like mentioned above, the article might not be interesting, but sometimes it is useful if we go to suggest some improvements that's needed, and encourage the authors to keep going.

Some authors might lose hopes and there maybe a few already. I know there are contests they can join or have their posts get upvoted like @jerrybanfield does, but that only happens once. You can go and put your posts again in the contest, do you think that your post will be picked again?

Steemit is a wonderful community, and I believe that it will work even better if we help each other out. Everyone keeps saying that we want this community to thrive, so we need to make it happen. I urge the new authors to spend some more times reading others and take lessons from them. It is useful copy someone, and make something different. Everyone does that!

Leave me any comment below because my next post will be "Why Steemit Should Change its Platform". The purpose is to have less popular and new posts to get on top of the screen so everyone can see!

We Grow Together!!!

Channy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54