I suppose I should introduce myself... or... well... my bot.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi, I'm @secondstar. I made this bot, something I'm a little proud of as it's my first real functioning development against the SteemIt API/etc.

My idea for this bot (and his siblings to follow once I get the last of the kinks worked out) is to fill a void that I've found, and some others have agreed exists. The ability to follow an entire category. I think this is sort of why you see those doing well STAY doing well, and no new comers able to really breech the gap between minnow and larger fish (without having to invest hundreds of dollars they may not have).

So by doin this bot, users can now subscribe to a category instead of just following a few elite individuals who post in that category and never seeing the rest.

Yes... this does also mean resteemin some spam sadly. For now. Working on a way to use the other spam catching bots out there to filter my list. For now they get by with it though.

And yes, it makes a comment. So do the badges/etc that no one seems to mind. I modeled my post after those in fact, as a way to help fund the project (note it's lack of funds) by giving people a place to put a gratitude vote. I guess in the beginning it WAS a little "beggy"... but then again I'd just sank a whole weekend and my own hard earned money (notice I didn't make steemit pay my initial vests) into getting it going. At least I added an unsubscribe/stop feature that leaves you alone after (across all of the bots, shared).

Anyway, if you're enjoying the project we always appreciate upvotes and tips. Meanwhile I'll just toss a few votes at it as I can from my primary account, at least until I have my break even on what I've spent on it.

Thanks for taking the time to read, hope you like the resteems, and appreciate and an all support (including resteeming this post so others can find the bot!)

Sort:  

How can i get this bot? i like it

What do you mean "get" it? If you post in the category (#steemit as your first tag), it automatically resteems.

Great job....I wish to be like you when I grow up....

Congratulations @cat.bot.steemit! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cat.bot.steemit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42