So, Why are you on Steemit? Why will you be?

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey again, so I've had some time to use this platform a bit more since my last post and I do honestly like it, but I'm not sure if that is misplaced. There are a few 'good characters' on here that want a real conversation but they exist en-mass in every other type of forum or chat board. Reddit is essentially a platform for 250,000,000 of them.

I'm kind of sick of people commenting saying "Oh man! Yeah! haha!" or "Great post man, I love it". When everyone involved in that interaction is knowingly disingenuous. If I am to make the claim that I value genuine social interaction over financially incentivised engagement than how am I to justify my use of this as a primary platform? Evidently, I am placing value on money as opposed to social interaction otherwise I would be on Reddit.

At its core, I like this because it has the power to act a tool in the liberation of knowledge and information. It can unshackle certain topic from taboo or censorship and when it is fully operational perhaps provide funding for important research that otherwise would not exist. It gives the people power - Through giving their voice weight - but these functions exist outside of our use of this platform. So again, I wonder, why am 'I' on here? Why are you on here?

I'm here because I like the gamification of social climbing, I like that I can see how much my insights are valued at and I like the ability for the userbase to constantly innovate and change the dynamic of the platform - one need only to look at "Good person tokens" for that. Aside from that I am largely unsure as to why I am here, I know I enjoy the community and I think once I manage to establish myself there is a lot of utility here. Thinking about it now, I think I'm here now because I know what Steemit will be one day not because what it is today. There is a banality to much of the content here, I'm guilty of perpetuating that, I'm fully aware.

I understand the paradox of claiming to use Steemit now for its future potential, and then simultaneously writing a negative article, but we're all shit and I never said I wasn't a hypocrite so don't be so presumptive, ey.

Anyway, why are you on Steemit? what makes you log on and most importantly what do you think the future looks like? At the end of the day, whatever answer I decide I like best will win an entire premium resteem valued at several pence. This will likely be one that I think supports my thinking so I don't need to admit I'm wrong and can just bury my head in sand surrounded by similar people like the rest of us.

Oh, and thank you!

Sort:  

@minnowpool @originalitycheck @booster @IdontactuallynowhowtousebotsbythewaysomeonetoldmetomentiontheminthecommentssoIam

I like doing hard things. Finding good content and getting any attention without purchasing some votes is hard. I guess that makes me weird.

purchasing votes is a way to help your curators get rewarded.

think about it :)

Hi, buddy

personally Im on steemit because I see potential in getting to know right people from industry, that is growing rapidly.

Let me suggest something that may help your readers a lot. You should justify your posts.

The difference will be huge. Just like on picture below:
justify.png

You can find it explained quite well here:
https://steemit.com/html/@dyrits/steem-it-1-how-to-justify-your-text

and obviously upvoted :)

Yours, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48