How important are bots to success of Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm sure this is not a unique post but I ask out of a genuine curiosity. I started on this platform recently and I absolutely love it. I cannot understate how much potential I believe it has. However, I've noticed something untoward - any post I make, any blog I write, and reply or any comment inevitably draws the attention of a bot.

Granted, I'm not that well versed in the purpose of these bots, as far as I can tell they exist for the purpose of mutual exposure. Minnowpool acts as a like/for/like type system, this has its benefits. I'm worried though if we continue to give influence to these actors are we not taking away from genuine social interaction. The abler these bots are to promote messages the more essential they become. Eventually, they become a barrier to entry, I fear that this might already be the case.

I'm not leveling any accusations and I'm doing some reading now to try and clear up any ignorance that I may have but as I stand today it seems a fairly simple equation. Giving these platforms power increases the need to use them. They become an integral part of the network, this reeks of pay to win. Again, if I'm way off here please inform me! I'm sure that this is coming from ignorance but it's got me slightly worried. Perhaps I'm just stingy with my money [I'm a student forgive me!] but proper utilization of bots on every post seems as if it could get expensive and grinding SBS through social interaction is slow and leads to forced and ungenuine conversation

Thank you for reading, again, I'm just looking to open a dialogue

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your view on bots.
personally i cannot see how small players (like myself) could compete with whales if bots would be illegal

upvoted and followed

Oh really, You know in my anguish I hadn't actually thought of the reverse. Do you mind if I ask, is it an expensive endeavour for you to keep bots funded or does it tend to work itself out?

Most of the time Im only breaking even. Especially now once sbd is valued so low. But I dont do that to earn money. I use bots because I want all my curators to benefit. I learned that most people will stop auto-voting you if it's not profitable. So Im making sure that anyone who auto-vote me will benefit and will never stop doing it.

hope it make sense.

ps. did you ever consider powering up your account?

Wow - My friend, you are such an important part of this community. I'm doing exams now hence the Radio silence but ill be back

good luck with your exams :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00