You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anyone here have a recommendation for a sewing machine?

in #steemit5 years ago

If you do buy an old machine, you can huntline online for old owners' manuals, download, and print for free! You can also order antique parts online. You might check ebay for local listings. Shipping a sewing machine $$$$ and buying it sight unseen is risky.

Sort:  

i didnt think to buy used (despite being an avid fan of craigslist). How would you sew different thread patterns? is that all in the foot?

Honestly, I know NOTHING about sewing, this is actually for the GF who knows how to, but doenst have access to a machine. Do you know of a good model that still has available parts?

Being in the NYC area, i have access to a lot of inventory on CL. Tons of people selling things!!

If you want various thread patterns, you'll need to look for 1960s and newer models. Just spin the dial to get zig-zag or any number of fancy stitches. If you have a craigslist in your area, I'd start there, or look online at whatever For Sale sites you can find. I look online for parts. I look online for everything! Singer is not the only brand, not even the "best" brand; I passed up a $150 German model from the 1960s and I'm still kicking myself over that one.
Using the right needle matters. Skinny needles for satin, heavy needles for denim. There are like a dozen needle sizes. The owner's manual (find it online!) will spell it all out.
Thread tension, bobbin tension, oiling the gears, keeping the machine clean (a tiny toothbrush to clear the thread plate) -- all these little **mechanical ** details plague me when I try to sew. Let me know what you find in your area - my sister knows waaaaay more about this stuff than I do, and she can spot a deal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95