You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beginner's Guide to Steemit, Part 1: Steemit Quick-Start Guide

in #steemit6 years ago

I know you said you would cover this in the next post but I honestly think a bulleted and bolded and emphasized however else you can think of point needs to be made immediately after "Signing Up" and before "Here are some of the first things you'll notice about Steemit" which makes it 100% crystal clear to NEVER EVER EVER use the password anew user is given (Master/Owner Key) for anything except to reveal private posting and active key, or to generate a new password. Link to a tutorial for the keys and/or your own future posting or what not. But man. I still see people to this day who are high REP and have been on platform for a long time who still have no clue. Who are still logging in every day with master key. Why the blockchain even allows this without a warning message is beyond me, but it does, and you see users lose control of their accounts all the time because of this.

Everything else looks great! Wonderful job Ethan! Really easy to understand, well formatted and organized, just top notch! Resteemed :)

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by, Carl.

I've got an extensive section discussing this in the next section, but I did consider adding more to this about the keys. Perhaps I'll modify and add some more tomorrow. I appreciate the suggestion as it's incredibly important.

Thanks again!

The in-depth security post should be coming soon, but for now, I've added a small section about using the posting key to log in and an analogy to help explain the master key. Thank you again for this recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69048.48
ETH 3765.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43