That extra loving feeling I get when crafting a post with Markdown!

in #steemit7 years ago

Ok just a short post but just something I've noticed over the time I've been posting here on Steemit.

I-love-Markdown.jpg

At the beginning when I started posting, to be honest, it felt like a bit of an ordeal just to create a post. I just wanted something quick and to click 'Post' and be done!

Having to remember and add all the Markdown syntax was a little annoying and time consuming. Where is the Bold button? Or the Italic button or the slider with the font size option?

As I got used to posting, the routine started to become second nature and I even started to enjoy it!

I find creating a post is like crafting a piece of art. You of course always have to be aware of the layout and format of content on the page etc but the actual doing it with Markdown syntax has just added a kind of extra loving effort into things!

Ok for now I'm enjoying it but maybe if we're still using Markdown in a year then I may be sick of it haha! Who knows what will happen!

Anyway just thought I'd share my views on what I feel is the weird satisfaction you get when you feel like you have actually crafted a post using Markdown.

Please comment and let me know if you feel similarly, or if you hate Markdown with a passion and can't wait for it to go, or if the extra little work getting used to it doesn't really bother you or whatever you feel!

Thanks for reading!


footer-image.jpg

Sort:  

I am just starting @carface so I will just have to experiment on the markdown feature. Enjoy your day. Upvoted.

Thanks! Yeh it will be interesting to see how you feel after a month.

I really feel its better to create a post like a piece of art, its much hard, nowday i am not really doing it cause i dont feel much inspirate. But i really prefer good post than meme post. Hope i will find my inspiration to do good post to.

The more you do the more you get inspiration! Just write about things that you are passionate about whatever that may be then the writing just flows out! Good luck!

Hey, in the markdown there are emoticons mentioned, but it seems they do not work. Is that true or how to use them? Followed

I basically just copy and paste from getemoji.com. 🙂 I don't think emoji's actually work in the Steemit editor which I must admit is a little bit of a pain

Thats a shame but thanks for explaining!

I agree that Markdown is awesome. Once you get used to Markdown, it's a breeze to work with. I've been using Visual Studio Code since it has Markdown preview and that's where I like to save my work.

Do you use the steemit editor or have any tools for preference?

Nice one! I only use Steemit editor at the moment but looking at Markdown editors was on my list of things to do.

You just boosted my motivation and gave me a little hope :)
I have just posted my introduction and my first article and like you, I am so excited to start sharing that I haven't taken the time to really get familiar with Markdown.
I'm starting NOW!

THANKS :)

Great takes a little bit of time to remember things but you'll get the hang of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54