Voting Power & Steem Power (explained)

in #steemit7 years ago

thumbnail.jpg

Every time you upvote you lose voting power


What is voting power and why do I need it?
Voting power can be thought of as energy. Each time you upvote a blog post or comment you lose energy. As your voting power decreases, your upvotes will be worth less and less. The more voting power you have the more your upvote will be worth.

Try to keep your voting power between 80-100%

How can I check my current voting power?
Go to steemnow.com and type in your username. Your voting power - as well as other stats - will be displayed here and updated in real time.

steemnow.jpg

My voting power is full and my vote still is not worth very much!
Your voting power is a measurement of the potential your vote has to reward another user once you upvote a blog post or comment. To increase your potential (the amount your vote is worth) you must gain SP (Steem Power). This can be done two ways.

  • Buy Steem Power directly (click on "Steem Power" and then "Buy")
  • Convert your Steem into Steem Power (click on "Steem" and then "Power Up")
















The more Steem Power you accumulate the more your upvotes will be worth giving you more influence on this platform. Steem Power is extremely important if you wish to be a successful blogger on Steemit. The more SP you have, the easier it will be to gain followers and because we upvote our own posts once we create them, having an upvote that is worth a lot will make your post stand out, receiving a greater number of upvotes.

Earn SP by creating quality content

On Steemit, quality content pays. At least 50% of all the rewards that your blog posts receive will be credited as Steem Power. By creating high quality content on a regular basis, you will be collecting SP and increasing the value of your upvote. So, by creating quality content and earning SP you are investing in your future.

How much SP do I need for my upvote to be worth $1?
I found this user @marymg2014 who's upvote is worth $1.20 at nearly 100% voting power. She has 1500 SP. An account with around 1200 Steem Power would generate $1 per upvote at full power.

If this post was helpful please leave an upvote

Sort:  

Question here ... Is there any incentive at all to upvote less than 100%? Still trying to figure this thing out.

I want to see who is the most powerful upvote here!?

well, my voting power is down to 58% as i came to know this info only yesterday. Before that i was voting like there is no tomorrow. for the time being i am not voting until i am fully charged again.

Yeah its best to wait otherwise the vote is useless

same here... thanks for this info

When you upvote, does it cost us anything besides voting power? Like do we lose money?

Congratulations @capitalpink! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I had the percentage slider, so I must of had at least 500 Steem Power, right? So why would my Steem Power now be at 337? I've added more Steem Power via Steem since then. I have never cashed out (I still don't know how). My breakdown for rewards is coming at 79% for Original content and only 21% comments. Am I not doing what I'm supposed to be doing?

This site has been a great help! I accidentally used a lot of my power already so my vote isn't worth a lot but I'll resteem :)

I did the same thing. haha

I'm up to about 84% power now. I'm focused on gettign back to 100% strength before I start upvoting again.

Thank you =) I followed you

Yup, that's me too. Just plan on doing some comments and hopefully get a post out too. And thanks for the follow :)

Thank you, great info for beginners like me.
I guess I was too generous lately, my voting power yesterday dropped under 30% lol
Will try to get it back higher (but is so hard not to click on good post - almost addicting :-)))

Yes I know what you mean I already upvoted a few times but now I mean it! i'm not upvoting until I reach 100% again.. lol

Followed you

LOL I hear you :-)
Yes I followed you also but I didn't mentioned it, I did stealth follow LOL

I want to see who is the most powerful upvote here!?

Very good post, i like it!

feel a little silly just finding out about this. I jumped into this platform too quick without fully understanding it. Oh well, lesson learned!

Lucky i found this thank you so much for this info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70