You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking for Advice Starting an Online Business

in #steemit6 years ago

I use dreamhost but have been having trouble with their HTTPS. Bluehost has been recommended to me by several developers.

I have worked with WordPress and their is a plugin for almost everything. I wish I knew more about the online shops but I haven't managed any. A friend of mine uses the plugin WooCommerce extensively with her clients and she has built beautiful shops with it.

As for double posting the same blog content, we have done one article exactly the same and the rest we have changed. We don't get enough traffic to know if it negatively affected us. From what I have heard the content has to be about 25% different between the articles otherwise Google will flag the content and it will rank lower in the search. Does that make sense? -Aimee

Sort:  

Thanks so much for this response!
I had looked into both bluehost and dreamhost yesterday, and bluehost is the one i felt more inclined to use between the two.

It seems like making an online shop out of a webpage can be done pretty simply, wother through a plugin like wordpress offers or simple 1-click purchase options via paypal. I'm leaning towards a shopping cart method over the 1 click purchase. I will look into woocommerce 💫

The 25% does make sense. I figured there has to be some way of reformatting or alternating content to post through mutliple outlets. I follow some steemians who also have blogs elsewhere and I had thought they posted similar/same content on both blogs.

Maybe I can find a nice algorithmic way of altering articles to keep them kosher in the eyes of the web spiders.

Thanks again Aimee! Great response 🙌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89