Steemians, it is time for breakfast. My original best cereal review!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)
 More than 50 % Americans start their day with a bowl of cereals. Crispy, frosted with sugar, adorned with cinnamon, rainbow colors, round, square, triangle... Different shapes, colors, tastes attract every little boy and girl to start their breakfast with a bowl of this goodie. Having been considered as fast, unhealthy, fatten food, many cereal brands have started to create cereals that would actually be good for you.  

I must confess that I absolutely adore cereals. No judgement, eh! Who would not like to start their day eating sweets, hmm? I have always liked crunchy natural cereals that have lots of nuts and berries. In my home country we do not have such a great variety of cereals as they have in the USA. I remember well my first time in the Walmart standing in front of cereals for like literally 20 minutes and could not believe how sick is that

However, most of cereals there, let's admit, are crappy there. They are full of artificial coloring, sugar and corn syrup.  But do not get confused, I do eat cereals even in the USA. I have 4 brands of cereals that I absolutely adore. Some of them are not as healthy as others, but at least none of them has artificial coloring or that unnatural taste. So, here is the list of my favorite cereals in the USA: 

3. Gluten Free Chex Granola Mix Honey Nut  

Nutrition facts: Serving size is 2/3 cup (58 g) 

Calories: 260 (Calories from fat: 80) 

Total fat: 9g 

Sodium: 75mg 

Potassium: 140mg 

Total Carbohydrate: 41g 

Dietary Fiber: 4g 

Sugars: 13g 

Protein: 5g  

Ingredients: whole grain oats, sugar, canola oil, whole grain rice, rice, almond pieces, honey, molasses, rice flour, salt, baking soda, natural flavor, vitamin E and BHT added to preserve freshness.  Opinion: Regular whole oat granola with Chex squares, almonds and sweet honey nut clusters taste absolutely incredible. I love eating this granola mix with milk because it absorbs the sweetness the best and then milk itself taste like granola. This Chex mix is in the 3rd place just because it could be less sweet. Honey itself gives a lot of flavor and it seems like I am eating cookies. If it was 50% less sweet, it would be absolutely No. 1. 

2.Kellogg's Special Red Berries

Nutrition facts: Serving size is 1 cup (31 g) 

Calories: 110 (Calories from fat: 0) 

Total fat: 0g 

Sodium: 190mg 

Potassium: 70mg 

Total Carbohydrate: 27g 

Dietary Fiber: 3g 

Sugars: 9g 

Protein: 2g  

Ingredients: whole grain wheat, rice, sugar, wheat bran freeze-dried strawberries, soluble wheat fiber, contains 2% or less of brown sugar syrup, salt, malt flavor. 

Opinion: Crunchy rice and wheat flakes with real strawberries are absolutely incredible. I have never seen cereal that would have such a huge berries inside. They are gigantic. The flakes itself are coated in syrup/sugar that gives lots of extra sweetness. However, I like the idea of rice and wheat flakes mixed together, they taste absolutely incredible. Tho, if Kellogg's reduced the sweetness of flakes, it would be amazing. Nut so far, milk works great with K's Red Berries!  

1. Love Grown Foods Mighty Flakes made with beans  

Nutrition facts: Serving size is 1 cup (55 g) 

Calories: 180 (Calories from fat: 10) 

Total fat: 1g 

Sodium: 85mg 

Total Carbohydrate: 37g 

Dietary Fiber: 3g 

Sugars: 14g 

Protein: 5g  

Ingredients: bean blend (navy beans, lentils, garbanzo beans), dried cane syrup, brown rice, white rice, strawberries, natural strawberry flavor, salt, sunflower lecithin, vitamin E (to maintain freshness).  

Opinion: Flakes are so crunchy! They taste different than any other cereal I have ever tasted. I just adore how crispy and "beanish" they are. What is the most important, is that they actually not too sweet and there is no coat of syrup or sugar around them. Pieces of strawberries just make them even better. Doubtless, No. 1! 


Did you like my review of cereal? What cereal is your favorite? Let me know in the comments below! 


Please, check my Cheetos VS. Doritos review too :) https://steemit.com/steemit/@caminito/for-all-steemers-hot-lovers-my-review-of-doritos-vs-cheetos-hot-chips       

Sort:  

I really liked this post. Something new to Steemit society. 1st cereal is my favorite too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61