A question for the Steemit community...

in #steemit6 years ago

question.png

I am curious about how to secure a pdf of a book on the blockchain. The author made it available for free as a download on his website but he is dead now and I'm looking to keep it available should his site ever go down.

It is near 500 pages. Is there a good way to do this?

Thank you in advance for any help here!

Sort:  

I don't know,
other than copy/pasting the whole book onto Steemit maybe one chapter at a time. If you do that make sure to choose "Decline Payment" though so that nobody flags you for posting someone else's work.

Thank you, @canadian-coconut! I was thinking that would be the way I'd like to go about it. I think it is an important book and that way might get it more exposure. I didn't see the "Decline Payment" option when I posted this. I didn't see any payout options actually. Not the 50/50 or anything. Did that move?
I hope you are well! It's been a busy summer here.

I just learned that choosing your payment method has been moved to "Settings".
So click on your icon in the upper-right corner, choose settings, then sroll down to Preferences and change it.
BUT make sure to change it back to 50/50 when you are done posting the book.

I see it now. Thanks again!!

Hey, Linda. Maybe you can help me here or can direct me to some help. I've been copy pasting away, getting the book all read to be posted. I have been dragging it in one page at a time and then formatting it together in a file so I can have the sections ready to post. I just got page 287 done and it went the same as all of the others, but then when I tried 288, and then the next few pages to see if it was just the one file, I got an error message and it won't load. Any thoughts?

Funny enough, I took a screenshot of the error message and tried to load it here to show you but I'm getting the same message. Did I break something?

It says "Image Upload : Error: [object Object]"

maybe there is a limit of how many words/pages you can do.
you should probably divide it into a few posts anyways.

Dividing it up is for sure my plan!
I thought a limit might be the problem so I took everything out of the post and just tried one image at a time but even that won't work. I tried to put an image in this comment and I get the same error.

ah. sorry but I'm not sure what's going on. Maybe it's a temporary glitch with Steemit.

I'll try restarting things, maybe that will work.

Thanks anyway! Have a great night!

https://www.dbooks.org/#/library/All

It's on the steemit blockchain

Thank you, @venomnymous. I will check that out.
It's been a busy summer and I haven't made it on here much. I have so much to say and I need to find some time to post!

Try https://lbry.io/ Content Freedom

Good question... upvoted and resteemed. This is a great way to utilize the blockchain.

Thanks for sharing my question and for the support! I'd really love to get it locked down somewhere it is not likely to get lost. And it would be great to get more people reading it!

To be honest my steem power is end...
plz upvote me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79