You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Number One Thing To Make Steemit Go Mainstream

in #steemit5 years ago

Huge shoutout for this one, so thanks! That's why other applications exist, and now with the resource credit system, getting steem accounts isn't too difficult; I make it known that on my site, at least, runs Wordpress with the SteemPress plugin, and after I activate two-way integration, new users will be able to hopefully register for steem blockchain through me. that's what I want, at least. In regards to Steemit, another part of it is the hot/trending/promoted. Who gives a dang about promotion? I don't like using bot service (unless said bot service is community run, and based on a token via the Steem Engine platform), good example is @tipu, so I tend to find my niche and ignore the rest of the stuff that I don't care that much about. I also think that the n ew communities that are springing rapidly up are going to help, as well. Not so entirely sure it's about the first DAP anymore.

Sort:  

I totally agree with you that it's not about the first Dapp anymore. There are sooo many new ones coming out just about every day. One of the things I love about the blockchain is the excitement and energy that seems to be growing as more and more people find their footing and try new ideas and new ways of doing things when they find themselves unchained from the corp run tried and true conventional net.

The sense of finding a home among the various communities is a wonderful thing. At one time the conventional net had that. Unfortunately, it didn't last long until communities became monetized. Now they are more of an echo chamber silo, dedicated to "influencers" and manipulation than a real and true community like you can find all over the blockchains.

The independent web is the non blockchain equivalent of that. I'm part of both communities, actually, what actually concerns me regarding us, is the fact that the corporation that makes the cryptocurrency could disappear. I'm worried more about them disappearing then about us disappearing. Stop

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a valid concern, I think. But so far it seems more likely that the exchanges will belly up, through mismanagement, exit scams and the like. I am a bit concerned about the mining aspect on the majors that use that method. I'm not certain it is sustainable, but one thing I've noticed on the blockchain is someone, somewhere seems to come up with solutions to problems before they get too far out of hand. It reminds me of the movie Avatar, a sort of global hive mind at work. I find my faith seems to be resting in that community hive mind, even more than in the tokens and coins that fuel them.

we're the only ones that seem to be able to do that in light of the rest of them. Everyone else seems to just be sitting on their butts while we're actually actually doing stuff.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86