You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beginner's Guide to Steemit: A New Initiative to Bring STEEM to the Masses

in #steemit6 years ago

Fantastic idea Ethan. I think the platform can be extremely daunting for people. I managed to get my brother's flatmate to join and when he logged in to see a blank feed and no real guidance on where to go, he was easily put off.

I think giving people the goods before they get here (would be an ideal attachment to the Steemit signup message), would allow them to get their heads around some features. This is critical for making sure people develop productive behaviours when they start up.

The recent thing I encountered was when I asked for delegation. My account has 6 self votes on it after 3 months and I know all 6 would of been in my first hour of the platform. Luckily, I decided against self voting, but even those 6 self votes could hinder my possibilities of gaining delegation for the BuddyUP community. Just a small point but it portrays the lack of guidance given when you first start on the platform.

I'll be happy to help out in any way I can. Massive respect for taking the reigns with this idea,along with TSE, and rolling with it.

Sort:  

Thanks for your response.

I'm curious about why self-voting precludes you from getting delegation. I'm curious to hear more about where you're seeking delegation and why this is an issue. I don't think it's something the average user has to worry about. On the subject of self-voting, I think there's an argument to be made for self-voting. If you believe your content is valuable, you should be able to vote on it. I don't think you should overdo it and only use your stake to vote yourself, but it's definitely an aspect I can take into consideration for this guide. Thank you for your feedback.

I think I'm just thinking ahead of myself as usual! It's not a big concern at all. Just if I wanted to ask someone to represent BuddyUP with a delegation they might look at my self-votes since I'm a young account and use it as a reason not too.

But... it's just overthinking uncertain possibilities! (You need to get that topic in the guide ;))

Of course. I don't think self-voting has ever been an issue for me during my time on Steemit. If you're worried, you can keep an eye on the percentage using SteemReports. Yours looks great, of course: http://www.steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=calumam&days=31

I think you're doing just fine, so I wouldn't worry too much. If people think your initiative is valuable (it is), you will get delegations. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47