Sort:  

I can understand that to be honest. The blockchain logic is where the incentive structure needs to be IMO. Especially once Steem has community namespaces and differential moderation, which is due to happen this quarter.

They? The project is open source, you can go to the dev channel and if you have ideas or code changes you can definitely get the attention of developers and what is required to implement them. The blockchain can be forked as well, you can distribute the coin, you can write the UI, there is nothing stopping anyone from doing just that. After all competition is healthy.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@elfspice/i-have-been-banned-from-submitting-issues-at-the-steemit-condenser-github-repo-so-here-is-my-r-eport

'sif they will accept any PR I were to put up anyway. Pretty sure I'll get that neat little error for any attempt to contribute.

As for forking, from a technical perspective, steemd is a nightmare. If you've ever actually tried to work with it, you would know what I mean.

I am indeed working on something, I have progressed a fair way in describing the specification:

https://steemit.com/div/@elfspice/follow-the-development-of-the-div-whitepaper

...and development roadmap that leverages competition for rewards as its incentive model for developers:

https://steemit.com/div/@elfspice/the-div-kernel-a-weed-that-has-found-fertile-ground

I am just catching up on my sleep still, after having to abruptly spend 3 days travelling through Serbia, and getting my miners back up and running (and having the beasts in my little apartment is not very helpful for my sleep either, here I am at 1am, blathering away, I must return to bed asap)...

'sif they will accept any PR I were to put up anyway. Pretty sure I'll get that neat little error for any attempt to contribute.

The problem is how you approach people, they don't have to contribute with you if they don't like you.

As for forking, from a technical perspective, steemd is a nightmare. If you've ever actually tried to work with it, you would know what I mean.

You can still fork it.

Your work looks very promising, I will be following you, I'm sorry you've had problems with the developers, but I've always been for competition, nothing makes people switch into high gear like someone beating them at their own game.

Yeah, I am not concerned about how I approach people, or who is repelled by my often abrupt manner. The work will not fail on account of my character, and enough people consider my character to be an asset in a world full of snakes and sharks. I'm not afraid of upsetting them and I've been for sure a significant part of how it came to be that calamus here is making these analyses of voting behaviour, and personz project smackdown . I named #project-smackdown, and the #steem-coop. You may have known that, I am not sure. I'm not saying I can take credit for it, because it's not my work, but I definitley was a loud voice inspiring thtose who did do the work.

As far as I'm concerned, the sole reason for resistance from Stinc is the fact that they all have something to hide. They are fools to not give what I say due regard because sooner or later they are going to be facing charges of racketeering and securities fraud. I will not be.

Yeah, I am not concerned about how I approach people, or who is repelled by my often abrupt manner. The work will not fail on account of my character, and enough people consider my character to be an asset in a world full of snakes and sharks.

Well that's a problem that you don't seem interested in approaching, or are simply proud of, but not everyone is a Vulcan like me and you. You have no way to know if it was your character or not that ultimately led to the failure of steem, should that happen, not that I would hold you partially responsible even but you simply cannot know how people are affected and how crucial you could have been.

I'm not afraid of upsetting them and I've been for sure a significant part of how it came to be that calamus here is making these analyses of voting behaviour, and personz project smackdown.

Being vociferous is commendable, but not placing importance on the manner you approach people is an issue I think.

As far as I'm concerned, the sole reason for resistance from Stinc is the fact that they all have something to hide. They are fools to not give what I say due regard because sooner or later they are going to be facing charges of racketeering and securities fraud. I will not be.

That's not a fact, that's the thing, that's what you think they are resisting because. I think one solution would be to mediate through an arbiter, if what you say is true then I can see why you'd say that it's not because of your character that they will fail, but I don't think you have the facts that make it true.

What exactly has been disregarded by SteemInc that would make them face racketeering and securities fraud charges??

I'm not a vulkan, I just don't tolerate hero worship, at all. Especially from anyone who wants to say I am some kind of hero also.

As for the fate of steem, I don't think I am at all wrong in saying they gotta pull their fingers out or there's gonna be big problems. The database issue is not going to go away, it has to be dealt with. Same as the game mechanics, because it's going to drive people away.

I'm sorry, but I'm simply not a people person. I don't do sweet words or the certainty of the uneducated and uninformed. If I am a leader, it is of a herd of cats, not a herd of sheep. Irony is intended.

You are right, maybe Stinc is just stupid. But stupidity is always a great cloak for malice. Either way, they gotta pull their fingers out.

You haven't obviously thought about the implications of designing an elaborate game that eventually adds up to Ponzi. There is many intricate ways of dodging this label, legally, like, Amway, for example.

It may well be that it doesn't fully qualify as a scam, but it sure looks like one, and that's gonna be enough for the suspicious and wary people like myself who have a personal vendetta against all scammers.

As for being more diplomatic or dumbing it down. I'll leave that to the dumber down below. I'm not going to use my wits to deceive people and if they don't understand and hate me for speaking a language they can't understand, they should go live in a foreign country for a while and see how much it is upon them to learn rather than criticise those who speak in a foreign language. If the expressions are properly formed, then any criticism shows ignorance and prejudice on the part of the critic bitching they are feeling stupid for not understanding.

That's not my problem, and I'm not wearing that bullshit anymore in my life. If you get what I'm saying, good, but I didn't ask you to follow me, in fact, if you didn't notice, I tried to dare you to prove me wrong.

You haven't obviously thought about the implications of designing an elaborate game that eventually adds up to Ponzi.

Let's conclude that all of the steeminc, everyone of the whales, sells out, and the price of steem drops to essentially zero to one satoshi, you would call that a ponzi scheme?

It may well be that it doesn't fully qualify as a scam

Correctly, it can either be a scam or it is either not a scam. It can become a scam or it doesn't become a scam. There isn't any in between, a scam exists or a scam doesn't exist.

but it sure looks like one,

Just doesn't fully qualify as a scam..

and that's gonna be enough for the suspicious and wary people like myself who have a personal vendetta against all scammers.

But unfounded suspicion and paranoia aren't that different.

As for being more diplomatic or dumbing it down. I'll leave that to the dumber down below. I'm not going to use my wits to deceive people and if they don't understand and hate me for speaking a language they can't understand, they should go live in a foreign country for a while and see how much it is upon them to learn rather than criticise those who speak in a foreign language.

It's not deceiving, it's being diplomatic, but more or less simply extending your respect and understanding to others, after all I am sure you both have the same goals in mind for the project and share similar values, and calling them dumb or inferior through your wits isn't a shared respect.

This is technically true, but forking the blockchain and getting a parallel witness network supporting so many accounts would be a difficult and very expensive undertaking I think. I'm not entirely familiar with the architecture though.

This is why at the centre of my strategy now lives the core concept of splicing together a bunch of off the shelf components (tendermint/basecoin and git, probably mongodb or similar NoSQL back end) to build the DIV Kernel, to get something up and running that kicks off the competitive development process where the primary activity being rewarded will be writing code and documentation.

With a toolkit assembled, that lets an ad-hoc group of developers coordinate their activities and peer review each other's work, and begin the process of building rewards and reputations, the bigger picture, as described in the whitepaper, will begin. This initial phase does entail a forum, however. Probably that part will be rapidly adopted by us malcontents too... but it's in the Kernel as a customer service component more so than general discussion. We need both, of course.

Why do you suppose you need to do everything, you simply need to get people interested in the idea that you're forming another blockchain, and essentially you would find those that are interested and work with them to that end. Difficult, very expensive, those sound like reasons that would fall away if you consider it's open source (free, free, already established architecture, did I mention already coded?), if you consider how many people we have in the community it's almost surprising that nobody has forked it already.

True. I guess some lower ranking witnesses could probably do that. I wonder what does stop them then.

Not the fact that it's open source, and I'm willing to bet there will be support for such a project, but alas seeing is believing so until someone makes this their dream I will continue to suggest it.

That is very true, but accepting code changes is still a democratic process which is slow and sometimes annoying. But maybe i should seriously explore this opportunity in the future in some way.

You could go to the chat, under the hamburger menu, go to the dev channel and ask around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65