Hard fork 19 - First impression

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

There seem to be some pretty huge changes after all! Let's go into detail of what i noticed so far.

Changes

  • My vote with 300 STEEM POWER went from less than $0.01 to $0.31!
  • A vote with 10 STEEM POWER went from $0.00 to $0.02!
  • Most posts with pending payout have gained about 100% more rewards immediately
  • The trending posts seem to have dropped in value
  • Everyone with less than 500 STEEM POWER should only vote 11 times a day now (because they don't get a slider on steemit.com)

My impression

At first glance this update looks way better than expected! I never ever expected to go up 3000% in power! This is certainly a step in the right direction. I still have the same concerns though, for example that whales still have too much influence. I will actually release an article about it very soon.

The STEEM price seems to have dropped immediately, but this seems to be mostly unrelated as there was technical resistance around 0.00090000 anyway.

I'm very curious to see how this new implementation is going to change the dynamics on SteemIt! A large percentage of users doesn't have 500 SP, so most users have to be very careful with their 11 votes a day from now on. Hopefully people are way more careful and pick good posts to spend their power on. We'll see how it goes in the next weeks. Exciting times!


Don't forget to follow, resteem and browse my channel for more information!

Sort:  

what a nice surprise!

Thanks for the info.. I didn't really understand the update until now. Good post!

Thanks for this! I know voting power goes down quickly now, but I didn't know quite how fast! It's nice to have a solid number to go by.

Thanks for the insight. I have noticed the changes and on checking my voting power (which has never been below 80%) I now find its at 60%. I need to rethink my strategy!!

The 2 cents of a newbie. During these first 3 or 4 days in Steemit, I have been losing most of my voting power, because I simply did not use it. I voted for everything I liked, but still at the end of the day I had almost 100% of my voting power.

If I´m not getting it wrong, for a guy in my situation this will be ok, since I will be using the power that would otherwise be lost.

You should never vote more than 11 times within 24 hours now.

What happens if you vote more than 11 times in a day, by mistake? I thought from vote number 12 on would simply not be possible.

Then you should do less than 11 votes tomorrow. Every vote you do you lose 2% of your REMAINING voting power, it can never go to 0% though. It always takes 5 days to regenerate back to 100% so that's why you should never go below 80%, unless you can't be on SteemIt for a few days.

How did you find out about the 11 votes per day thing? Can you link me please

1*0.98^11=80.07% and voting power regenerates at exactly 20% per day. You don't need a link, you need a brain, information and a formula :p

Haha thanks! :P and for somebody who doesn't have access to the same brain/information/formula as you how many times can you vote a day with roughly 5000 Steem Power?

Everyone above 500SP should only vote between 11 times @100% power and 1115 times @ 1% power per 24 hours.

Thanks for the clarification son

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34