You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've Decided to Discontinue Utilizing Vote Buying Services

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm torn on this one. I agree bots are rotting Steem at its core, but if people putting out good content opt out of using them then it seems like the rot will set in faster.

What are your thoughts on initiatives like GrumpyCat?

Sort:  

It's a difficult situation with no easy answers. Vote buying was an inevitability, though I don't think most people foresaw it taking place on this scale.

You're right in that quality content creators are in a difficult position if they want their content to reach the trending page, but I'm hoping that updates to the platform reduce the need for people to reach those pages. Perhaps updates to the site itself, such as the communities feature, will reduce vote-buying or at the very least make it easier for people to find actual valuable content.

I am not familiar with GrumpyCat, care to enlighten me on their initiative? Does it involve flagging bidbot abusers?

GrumpyCat heavily downvotes and comments on any post voted on by a bidbot which allows itself to vote on posts older than 3 days. It basically shuts those bots down because bidders will not want to use them again.

I think something similar but more strict and with more Steem Power behind it could make a difference.

What upcoming platform changes do you foresee making a difference here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64050.44
ETH 2502.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65