You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photographers - Let's Educate Users About Correct Image Usage

in #steemit7 years ago

A lot of countries don't respect copyright though - and a lot of the people on here are from countries that don't respect it.

Sort:  

True, but where is Steemit's official location? The US? Would that not make the actual location of the infringement the US? I'm not sure, just guessing on that one!

You can't apply USA laws outside of USA territories. There are international agreements but they need to be enforced by local authorities if they are a part of the agreement.

But, Steemit would be obligated to remove an image from its site if a copyright holder filed a DMCA take down notice. It would not matter where the author resides. Steemit would face penalties if the image was not removed in a timely fashion!

Here's the catch 22 in that ... nothing can be removed from the chain. The best Steemit Inc. could do is flag the post into "low value" thereby discouraging the user from repeat posts.

I'm especially irritated by the use of model's photographs in so many posts. In those cases, people are often crediting "twitter" or "Instagram" or trying to claim they are the model.

The block itself cannot be removed from the chain but the content can. You can go back and edit any post and delete all of the content and you will be left with an empty post.

The images are not stored in the blockchain. If you are using the Steemit.com website, they are stored in Amazon Simple Storage Service, also known as S3. The images can be removed from S3 with a DMCA take takedown request. So images are not indelibly ingrained in the blockchain, nor is the text and links in a post, which is good for all copyright holders/

That explains it well. Thanks!

I had thought that too, but I have been told over on the chat site that only the text is stored on the block chain. Images are not, which I find encouraging. The copyright holder would have to make a request through a DMCA takedown notice to have the image removed and Steemit would have to comply.

Not to mention fake (farm) accounts, as I would like to put it. Isn't there someone out there (who so happened to live the US as I am informed) is doing that? There are all kinds of violation going on, be it copyright. When the heart is not right, anything goes sideways.

I know. It really make me wonder if I belong here

It is going to be everywhere @dmcamera . You cannot get away from this and be in a photography utopia.

I have learned the hard way a long time ago. Whatever you have post to the Internet (and with technology enhancement), it is never really yours anymore (in some ways).

My images have been marketed on the Internet for over 20 years now, so I'm not in any kind of Utopia. I have about 7,000 images online in all. But because something is on the Internet does not mean I have ceased to own it.

That's like saying you have parked your car downtown, so you don't own it anymore because someone could take it.

I know that there is a sense of entitlement in the world today, but I don't agree with it. I believe that people should work for what they receive.

Just because something is easy and available does not make it right to take it. I'm not going to call right wrong and wrong right, just because it would make for a more peaceful existence.

I have been fighting against copyright infringement for many years. This did not change when I joined Steemit!

There is zero tolerance on here against plagiarism (which is not illegal) but an acceptance for copyright infringement (which is illegal.) That is just plain wrong.

Correct me if I am wrong.... Steemit (in Wikipedia) says, like Bitcoin, it is a decentralised network, which means it can be EVERYWHERE. I have checked the website registration, and this site's interface is located in 4 different areas. I'd probably will not disclose it here, but yes, one of them is in the US.
But that said, we do not understand how decentralised coding is for Steemit, so (the contents) could it is still scattered across the world.

I think there is a company which owns Steemit Inc. which owns Steemit and it is located in the USA, I believe. The block chain code is all over the world, as far as I can tell. There was already a post written a while back about Steemit having to comply with a DMCA take down notice last year.

I can tell you the truth. The international community (I have noticed a few distinct type of groups, mostly not very English educated) will care hoots about this copyright issued from US, as long as we do not keep encouraging everyone create their own content, and support groups that help make that happen.
Telling people it is wrong to use other people content is asking you to tell a child not to touch something. That's human nature.
Let's just keep encouraging others to use their hand phones and be their own man. I have been enough social network that pays to see that because of the ignorance of those who think the law can protect them, will end up having the whole site torn into pieces.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53