WTF Steem? Proper cryptocurrency needs privacy!

in #steemit8 years ago

Steem features fully public wallets, all under single key and well linked to the poster.

Even if we stay pseudonymous in principle, nearly everyone leaks enough to reveal who they are IRL in social media. This is one of the main features of social media, after all!

For example, my last post alone has enough information so that anyone could figure my full name, profession and phone number (of course, I did not post any of these). I have no issue with that, as a poster, but I do care about making my financial transactions so easily linked to me.

For the love of God, cryptocurrency wants to be private! It is a clear regression from the status quo if it is not. 

I was thinking about buying a decent amount of STEEM, as an speculative investment and to power up my votes here at steemit, but I am a bit scared of doing it in the current conditions. STEEM is clearly skyrocketing and could soon be worth a lot. I want to go to the Moon and build my citadel there; I do not want to get rubber-hose hacked in the process.

Sort:  

I think the amount of Steem we own, and Steam Dollars should be private, but perhaps Steem Power could be visible? Just a thought. Interested to hear reasons why we should have Steem Power private too.

Yes, Steem Power could be public in principle. But the main problem I see is that it empirically happens to be quite correlated with Steem and Steem dollars, so you would still get selectively targeted for hacking and/or extortion.

This deserves more upvotes honestly. Voted

AGREED!!!! GET GOOGLE AUTHY!

Thank you for posting! Hope you get this to snowball to the top!

BTW, should steemit let us steemers advertise using steem?

Be sure to tell everyone you know to come vote here at: https://steemit.com/steemit/@kingtylervvs/if-steemit-ever-does-decide-to-advertise-there-is-only-1-way-it-could-work-in-my-opinion-debate

This is a democratic community decision.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51