Discovering Hidden/Unrecognized Talents With Platforms like Netflix and Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I love watching Netflix Originals more and more lately. Most of the ones I’ve watched have been excellent. For instance, Black Mirror is such an outstanding show. It makes you really think about downsides of things that we currently seem to be obsessed with. It has interesting ideas when it comes to cool technology being implemented in our day-to-day lives.

Netflix has a great selection of stand-up comedies as well. My favorite ones have been Hasan Minhaj’s Homecoming King, Bo Burnham’s Make Happy, Bill Burr’s I’m Sorry You Feel That Way, and many more. The Standups that came out this year is a collection of six stand-up comedians that I’ve never heard of before but because of Netflix coming out with these originals of its own, I stumbled upon these hilarious people's work and I'm very happy I did.

While watching another comedy show yesterday on Netflix (yes, I'm obsessed with comedy :D) called The Indian Detective, I came to a realization: just like how Steemit has become such an excellent platform for so many people around the world to share their hidden talents by requiring nothing more than an internet connection, Netflix has become the new movie industry in a way. Finding out talents that get overlooked or just never get the opportunity to come to light, Netflix has made it possible for new actors, artists, comedians, writers, and other hidden gems to be seen by the entire world. I’m sure being at the right place at the right time still applies to getting a contract with Netflix just like it does with music, movie, and fashion industries. However, Netflix has shown that Hollywood, Bollywood, TV channels, etc. aren’t the only options in the entertainment industry anymore. It has become the new cool thing now and more and more people want to be a part of it. Jobs, stand-up comedies, TV shows, etc. all seem to have a good reputation when it concerns Netflix, at least from what I’ve read or seen. Even famous artists like Justin Timberlake have utilized the power of Netflix to release their concerts (his was more like a nice performance than a concert-
y vibe) directly on the website.

With the power of internet, the opportunities that we have available are endless. In less than 2 years, Steemit has over half a million users now. Netflix has 109 million users worldwide now in the 20 years of their existence. I don't even watch TV at all because the internet provides me with any and all information I'll need. Even for school, as long as I have my laptop and an internet connection, I can take care of all my responsibilities. It’s an amazing time we live in today.

What are your thoughts on this? Also, what are some of your favorite Netflix Originals that you would highly recommend?

Sources:
https://steemdata.com/stats
https://media.netflix.com/en/about-netflix

Sort:  

Netflix has got some really good serials. I loved Stranger Things a lot. Never watched Black Mirror, seems interesting and will keep in mind :)

If you're into super cool tech/gadgets and seeing the potential bad aspects of them, Black Mirror is the show for you. It's suuper weird. Definitely recommend it. Finishing up the new season right now actually haha. I have yet to check out Stranger Things..

Nice netflix i so interesting and keep steeming :)

nice post, I appreciate your efforts.following you, i appreciate if you upvote and if you follow me.

Oh awesome post! I’m actually searching for the next show I would like to watch so this post is awesome... I really like stranger things!!

Haha glad you liked it! I'll have to give Stranger Things next time I'm looking to start something new ;)

once i was a huge fan of indian drama "CID" now stopped watching , beczuse it ruined my eye . these days i have started steeming leaving television

Oh I remember watching CID when I was little haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43