You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Got Questions About Steemit? I've Got Answers! Ask Away, I'll Find Answers for Anything I Don't Already Know!

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm still VERY new to the platform and I am enjoying it and doing very well... here's my big but ;) I have several friends and family members who would be great at it, enjoy it and could also use the money (however little) they could make from it just using some of the time they're already spending on other social media platforms.

My question is this: How do I best explain things in such a way that helps them get started? I've tried the "just start writing and finding other people to comment/interact with" but they are just overwhelmed by the... SO MUCH INFORMATION that as you said seems to be hard to search through for specific info.

Are there any pages, steemians who seem to have gotten a good hold on preaching/teaching the PRE-newbies that are almost afraid to even dip their toes in for fear of doing it wrong?

Just simple laid out things that aren't written in techno speak from the interactions, formatting, but even more importantly NON-technical explanations of this whole mysterious crypto thing.

If that made any sense, I'd greatly appreciate your input!

Thanks in advance for even trying to wade through this rubbish that my brain seems to be handing out lately! :)

Sort:  

Well, the best convincer I know of, is to take pictures of the stuff you get with your steem. LOL Once I was able to show pictures from Paris, that Steem paid my half of, when my wife won a trip, people started to take me seriously. Here is the best explanation of all things Steemit. Some of it is a bit technical. To be honest, the technical aspects of crypto are not important. As long as they can navigate the required sites to convert their money, and I'm about to do a tutorial on that, they can do it. https://www.google.com/url?q=https://steemit.com/faq.html&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjJsuKore_YAhUB-WMKHT4MCe8QFggEMAA&client=internal-uds-cse&cx=011445933062884569876:-jmpkfnkicw&usg=AOvVaw2YppL-xP0ibcPBPPE8B-_Y

As far as the technical aspects of Steemit, they should ignore them, other than the html required to format posts, which can be worked around using a free tool called MarkdownPad 2. Search the hashtag #dolphinschool for some other things I've written about getting started here on Steemit.

I suppose I just need to get on them about being more consistent. I've been on for such a short time that I feel like I'm not the one to tell anyone how to do things! I'm doing well, though, so I want everyone to get on and have the experience that I've had (making friends, being inspired to write again AND making money!) I think my friends just are too timid with it. They make a post or two and then just feel like they aren't doing it right. I suppose I just need to keep helping them along and trying to be encouraging. OOooh, I am ALWAYS looking for more formatting advice myself and would love to share that with them as well. Thank you for that!

I'm personally not so worried about the technical parts of crypto myself, as my husband it the crypto-investor-nerd of the house, but I am wondering if there is any way... well, to be honest, most people I know just think it's some sort of scam or almost like monopoly money. Everything I try to read on it is in such techno-speak that I can't even understand it. Maybe I'll ask my husband to try to speak my language and write a post for me to share with them if one already doesn't exist! :)

I LOVE the idea of the tutorial. I haven't really even began to try and navigate getting my money out of steemit yet. It just overwhelms me almost immediately and I just decide to look at it later. I think there is a big market for someone who can explain the necessary basics and know how of this kind of things to the people who just don't speak technical if you know what I mean.

Also, THANK YOU for your response and wading through my novel of a comment :) Thanks for the links, as well. I am going to go check them out!

The problem with putting it into street language, is they always boil it down to "It's backed by nothing" as opposed, of course, to the state, that we already know will screw us over every chance they get.

Oh yeah... too too true!

Also, don't feel you need to respond to all of that mess, I'm in a rambling mood this evening!

You're fine, thanks for the comments. Happy to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52