Steemit Tips for Success: Mischaracterization is Just as Bad as Plagiarism!

in #steemit7 years ago

As someone who has performed top-level research for Global 500 companies, as well as financial analysis for multimedia clients, reputation is everything. Depending on the platform (such as a journalistic piece), draconian penalties are dished for those that run afoul of various copyright and plagiarism laws.

However, incoming Steemit users -- in addition to hardened veterans -- should be aware that mischaracterization is just as bad as copyright or plagiarism violations. In such cases, the offender is constructing a framework that is inaccurate or downright false.

nose-156596_1280.png

Mischaracterization is actually more common than you may initially believe. It typically occurs when you deploy absolute statements, such as never, always, or similar iterations.

A Lie is a Lie

I came across a Steemit article from a very successful financial salesperson (and alleged con artist). I will not disclose the name, because this post is not about vigilantism. Rather, I want to share common pitfalls that could hurt your Steemit reputation, and potentially incur outside problems.

This salesperson pumped out an article declaring that the U.S. dollar hit a seven-month low, yet the mainstream media is refusing to report on the problem. While I'm no fan of the MSM, I'm also not a proponent of intellectual dishonesty.

Unfortunately, based on the popularity of this article, many Steemit users don't realize that they are rewarding a patently false article. Reuters did in fact mention the dollar hitting a seven-month low, and get this -- they also mentioned that gold futures were jumping on the news!

Dollar-weaker.jpg

My friends, I'm all for passionate dialogue and debate. However, I am NOT for outright mischaracterizations and strawman arguments. Otherwise, if we stoop to this level, how are we any better than the elites we criticize!?

House of Cards

I understand that mischaracterizations, false statements, and outright deceptions are the easy way to success. But that success is an unsure one, a house of cards waiting for an errant hand or an unpredicted flow of air.

You should be aware that one mistake could trigger an avalanche. For instance, I previously mentioned that this salesperson is an alleged con artist. Now, that accusation begins to stick more, considering that the person had no qualms about issuing a patently false statement.

You want to avoid strikes against both your Steemit reputation, as well as your personal/professional reputation. If you don't know something as an absolute fact, it is best to hedge your statements with non-absolute assertions.

Otherwise, you could end up in a deeper pile than you originally envisioned!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing @bullishmoney. Upvoted and resteemed :)

Thank you so much for your support! :)

I read it. Informative. Thank you.

Thank you so much! :)

Honestly I've been here for two weeks , it's been hard but I'm trying to see differences here on steemit

Depending on what kind of differences to which you are referring, Steemit is either a Godsend or something a little more mundane, to put it politely.

We have to differentiate ourselves from the media, which means we have to get facts correct, and stick to truth as close as we possibly can. We don't want to become what we hate!

Exactly, exactly, exactly! Thank you for your comment! :)

Great article. I'm pretty sure I saw this post as well...

Yeah, I want to clarify that I agree with your desire to diversify into precious metals. However, it just drives me nuts that people can pump out deliberately false statements and profit from it! I believe that we can "win the battle," so to speak, but do it honorably as well.

No offense taken! I try to be as factual as possible in my content. Not only is honesty the best policy, but I know my audience will often fact check me anyways.

I don't pay much attention to the day-to-day hypesters of the investment media, and for exactly this reason. These people have nothing to talk about half the time, and they just hype stuff up to sound relevant. unfortunately there will probably always be an audience for "here's the trade you HAVE to make today!" type of "news"

I believe that if your main point is to be the anti-MSM, which this person claims to be, then you can't play by their same BS tactics. I found it surprising that not too many folks caught on to that, but then again, it is the sad state of affairs today.

Great article, it's true always triple check your sources 😀

Well, this person didn't even source! So yeah...big problem if you're claiming to be anti-MSM and anti-fake news! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82