Steemit Curation Advice: Stop Using Assumptive Language!

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit-curation-advice.jpg

This video won't apply for Steemit users -- or any other social media platform -- who are determined to be pricks. But for those who are interested in effective Steem content curation and engagement, you'll want to listen up!

Steemit is a revolutionary social media network powered by the blockchain -- the same type of blockchain used in the bitcoin cryptocurrency. The beautiful aspect of Steem is that the architecture is technically decentralized, and thus, is a non-censored platform.

This means that should you choose to act like Yahoo or YouTube assholes, you can, but you will likely find that such antics don't pay. Or, you can choose to be civil, which nets far greater results.

For those that prefer content curation and engagement over creation, Steemit is an ideal social media network because so many ideas abound. Nevertheless, to effectively engage the content creation community, you'll want to avoid assumptive language.

By assumptive language, I mean imparting ideas, attributes, or accusations to another person that may or may not be true. For instance, let's say you came across a "sports news" post. You might say that the content creator is "obsessed" with sports, but that may not be the case at all. That sports-related post may be the only one of its kind in that person's account or channel.

Almost immediately when you use assumptive language, the receiving party is put on the defensive. You want to avoid that situation as an effective curator. The focus should always be on the content itself, not the content creator.

As soon as you make the post about the creator, it becomes a personal criticism, which is broadly considered ad hominem. Assumptive language will likely result in sidetracking what could be a robust and meaningful debate, ruining your reputation as a fair curator, and pissing off content creators.

Sort:  

Since I've been following you, and being a total noob, I've gotten some great takeaways from your posts. Upvoted and thanks!!

I feel like people can take this advice and apply it to everything in life, when dealing with people in general. "Assumptions make a asshole, out of you and me"

There's quite a few posts around aiming to help people become less a$$holes. I like the optimism! Although I'm not sure it will be extremely effective as it is too anonymous to a certain extent and I also don't think these people realise that NOTHING will be deleted from the blockchain soon... I just wanted to say that I really appreciate the effort and it shows me that there is a real drive to make Steemit the success it deserves to be. I'll try my hardest to help!

It's the right thing to do.

Thanks for pinpointing this. I love Steem precisely for this reason. I feel comfortable posting here because users stick to respectable conversations that are relevant. Trolling isn't rewarded. Great thoughts. I appreciate it.

PS I'm following you now.

Yeah this point has to be made. May save the embarrassment of many later on. Cheers.

A very good post. I stand by you and support your thoughts and ideas.

Re-steemed! People need to know this...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70