Confession Time: Why I Haven't Invested in Steemit / STEEM Recently...👀❕❕❕

in #steemit6 years ago

I want to share with the entire Steemit community why I haven't invested in the platform, nor the STEEM cryptocurrency in recent memory.

Before I do so, PLEASE don't take this the wrong way -- I'm just merely sharing my opinion, which you can value however you please. These are my honest, sincere thoughts, and I am in no way attempting to persuade you on how you should invest your time and resources.

Okay, here goes...if memory serves me correctly, I haven't invested in the Steemit platform for about a year. That might sound like a long time, which I guess it is in "Steemit time," but I have reasons for being apprehensive. Let me go over them...

Concerns about overall stability


No, I'm not talking about technical stability, but rather, the viability of the Steemit platform.

If we're being completely honest, the only way you can make Steemit a full-time venture is if you are part of the whale circle-jerk. If not, it's a pretty miserable experience.

Of course, if you don't care about the money, then Steemit is just fine. BUT, if you don't care about the money, it's honestly better to use Facebook, Twitter or any other mainstream platform -- you'll have better traffic opportunities, and more (and higher quality) engagement.

But given that so many newcomers to Steemit end up fading away, I'm not really sure if I want to invest "real" money into an ephemeral platform, and a beta version at that.

No logical structure


By "logical structure," I mean some rational pattern in how you can engage and benefit from Steemit.

For instance, in other platforms, the more you work, and are diligent in your efforts, the higher your chances for success.

With Steemit, there's no such logic. Using a personal example, I have waaaayy more followers than I ever did 10 months ago, and yet 10 months ago, I was making MORE money!

How does that make sense?

It doesn't.

I usually like to invest in assets that make sense (or at least make sense to me).

Steemians can be scary


I hate to say this because Steemit is a fairly important part of my routine. Plus, I know many, many good Steemians here.

But brothers and sisters...I have to confess: sometimes, being on Steemit feels like I've been inducted into the Jonestown cult.

I got laid off today. Keep on Steemin'!

My children are hungry. Keep on Steemin'!

We're about to lose the home. Keep on Steemin'!

My grandpa has dementia. Keep on Steemin'!

...You get the picture.

My Final Thought


Again, let me reiterate that these are my thoughts and opinions. However, I'd also like to add that I'd wager many of you feel exactly the same way but were perhaps afraid to voice that opinion -- maybe you didn't want to offend anyone, or maybe you want to keep a "good" reputation on Steemit.

Whatever the case, whether you agree with me or not, I want to share one friendly piece of advice -- don't ever feel pressured to act a certain way on Steemit. Certainly, don't feel pressured to invest in the Steemit platform.

Ultimately, do what's right for you!
Sort:  

Well, at least they are not selling our data to third parties behind our backs like Facebook did. Plus, shouldn't the $$$ value got up quicker now that the inflation rate is lower?

I believe too many people are looking at www.steemit.com to become the next Facebook but the goal is not Steemit it’s the Steem Blockchain. When SMTs (smart media tokens) get rolled out anyone can just plug-in play there own Social Token. I know for a fact Steem SMTs will be much bigger than Steemit. Dtube is already planning their own SMT. How does successful SMT create value for Steem? It’s similar to how ETH gets its value. Since SMTs are built on top of Steem blockchain it requires Steem tokens to access the bandwidth to use that particular app. Steem has the advantage over general purpose blockchains like ETH or EOS in Social Media. Steem is first mover with 1 million accounts and specialized in Social Media. Moreover, SMTs would allow users to escape the circle jerking on whale accounts with intro to hybrid economic systems like account based voting mixed with stake weighted voting. SMT allows anyone to design “a better” system the way they see fit.

thanks for this post. follow you & Share this post

The beauty of this world is to be able to express the way you want. It always depends on what you want to reach that can make a difference in your perception.

financial incentives aside, i enjoy steemit as a media platform. uncensored. somewhat.
the whales make it less fun sometimes, but the diverse steemit community as small as it is at almost one million strong (997,949 accounts right now) make it worthwhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44