Steemit - Let's get STEEM and SBD markets listed on Bitfinex! Email Templates - Please Resteem!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So there have been a lot of complaints about Poloniex lately. Apparently transactions have resumed, but people still seem to be having problems and the exchange's lack of communication has been very disappointing. Bittrex and Blocktrades are good, but they do not offer margin trading and the more exchanges we have on board, the better.

Bitfinex is still the dominant Bitcoin exchange by volume outside of China and getting Steem listed there would be a huge step forward for the platform and community. When Bitfinex adds a coin to their exchange, it puts the coin on the map and the market cap shoots up - look at Iota. Bitfinex have just announced they will be adding EOS on 1st of July - they are actively looking for coins with potential, but they seem to have overlooked one of the best. It's our job to let them know.

Now Bitfinex has had its problems in the past too, but unlike Poloniex, they deal with them and issue near constant updates - communication is one of their strengths, as is resilience.

I have created these email templates for both existing and potential clients, and encourage every one in the Steemit community to send Bitfinex an email request. Feel free to send your own email, in fact that would probably better, but using these templates, the process will take you less than two minutes and you'll be helping the entire community in the process.

Existing Clients:

Dear Bitfinex,
I've been a client for more than x years and I'm writing to request you add Steem and Steem Dollars to the exchange. I would really like to see the STEEMBTC and SBDBTC markets added, though if you could also add Ether markets, that would be awesome.

Steem and Steem Dollars fuel the steemit.com blockchain powered social media platform - where creators and curators of original content are actually rewarded for their efforts - this is quite honestly the most innovative thing to happen to cryptocurrency since Bitfinex pioneered margin trading. Bitfinex has always been an industry leader and it would be great to see the exchange get behind this project by including the STEEM and SBD markets.

Lately the Steemit community have been having a lot of troubles with your rival Poloniex. The community is extremely dissatisfied after an endless string of transaction issues and, more importantly, a lack of adequate communication from the Poloniex team. Bitfinex has always excelled in solving technical issues quickly and actively communicating any problems to its traders. Bittrex is taking a lot of marketshare from Poloniex over this, but they do not offer margin trading. There is a real opportunity here for Bitfinex to step up and snatch market share. The margin market is literally ripe for the taking.

Sincerely,

Potential Clients:

Dear Bitfinex,
I am not currently a client, but I am writing to you to request you add Steem and Steem Dollars to the exchange. I would really like to see the STEEMBTC and SBDBTC markets added, though if you also add Ether markets, that would be awesome. Though I am not currently a client, if you were to add these markets to the exchange, I would definitely open an account.

Steem and Steem Dollars fuel the steemit.com blockchain powered social media platform - where creators and curators of original content are actually rewarded for their efforts - this is quite honestly the most innovative thing to happen to cryptocurrency since Bitfinex pioneered margin trading. Bitfinex has always been an industry leader and it would be great to see the exchange get behind this project by including the STEEM and SBD markets.

Lately the Steemit community have been having a lot of troubles with your rival Poloniex. The community is extremely dissatisfied after an endless string of transaction issues and, more importantly, a lack of adequate communication from the Poloniex team. I have been told by existing clients that Bitfinex has always excelled in solving technical issues quickly and actively communicating any problems to its traders. Bittrex is taking a lot of marketshare from Poloniex over this, but they do not offer margin trading. There is a real opportunity here for Bitfinex to step up and snatch market share. The margin market is literally ripe for the taking.

Sincerely,

Getting Steem and Steem Dollars listed on Bitfinex would be a huge step forward and attract a ton of attention and new Steemians. Please get behind this campaign by sending an email to Bitfinex at [email protected] and resteeming this post. Let's see what we can achieve with a little Steem Power!




(steemit.com)



20% of post rewards will be split with @Centerlink for the communal benefit of #TeamAustralia

Sort:  

I'll definitely resteem this post. Few days back, I wrote blog that why wouldn't Bitfinex add steem and sbd while it can add YOYOW. I also asked that what can we do to embark steem on bitfinex. I think this is the right way to do it. Thanks

Thanks Lukize, glad you think so - please resteem! This will only work if they get a ton of emails.

I pray it comes out in good light. lets send our mails plssss

nice.
i will follow you, i hope you will follow me )))

Hi Bachoo, take a screenshot of the email you've sent on behalf of the community and I'll be happy to follow you back.

Thank you! Good work!

No worries Teddy and thank you, please resteem!

Done!

I, too, have written on the problems with Poloniex. It is worth mentioning, though, that there may be some issues on the SteemIt side also.

When a hardfork takes place it is SteemIt's responsibility to ensure that it's biggest Exchanger is ready for it, as it is the SteemIt developers who have produced the new code and it is only they who will be aware of the problems that may arise. As it appears that Poloniex was not ready, the SteemIt developers must bear some of the blame.

Think about, what business would change something about the way it works without first making sure that its most important client is ready for it?

I know some of you, being ardent SteemIt fanatics :), will disagree with this, but I feel this is the truth of the matter.

Sorry David, I don't agree at all. Users were having problems with Steem transactions on Polnoiex long before the hardfork - there's a history of it. Also, if this most recent freeze on transactions was a fault of the Steemit team/the hardfork, how come Bittrex wasn't affected? Lastly, very hard to blame Poloniex's substandard communication -> lack of respect for their user base, on anyone but themselves.

Regardless, this post is about helping Steemit grow by getting Steem tokens listed on another exchange ... What has happened/does happen at Poloniex/who is at fault is kind of irrelevant. If you don't agree with what I've said in my template, please send your own original email!

You seem to have taken offence to my comment. I don't know why. You sound quite grumpy. :)

"Sorry David, I don't agree at all. Users were having problems with Steem transactions on Polnoiex long before the hardfork - there's a history of it."

Yes, but there hasn't been such a problem as there is now, at least not in the last few months - at least, not to my knowledge.

"Also, if this most recent freeze on transactions was a fault of the Steemit team/the hardfork, how come Bittrex wasn't affected?"

Poloniex deals with much higher volumes than Bittrex and will have different software and hardware, There is also the issue of security. The two exchanges are likely to have very different setups. They may even have to comply with different laws/regulations. And, yes, Poloniex is a mess (and I didn't say they weren't at fault), but that doesn't make any difference to the point I was making.

"Lastly, very hard to blame Poloniex's substandard communication -> lack of respect for their user base, on anyone but themselves."

I didn't (and wouldn't) claim anything to the contrary. I myself still have a ticket waiting from before the hardfork, so I, too, understand how frustrating it is.

"Regardless, this post is about helping Steemit grow by getting Steem tokens listed on another exchange ... What has happened/does happen at Poloniex/who is at fault is kind of irrelevant."

Are you saying that I can only comment on what you want me to comment on and that surrounding issues should not be addressed? I find this a very strange attitude, something that I haven't on seen elsewhere on SteemIt.

"If you don't agree with what I've said in my template, please send your own original email :)"

I didn't say anything about your templates.
I'm glad I didn't because if I had said anything negative about them, you would've bitten my head off! :)

Hi David, not at all. I realized it may have sounded a little aggy and that was not my purpose. I am tired after a long day, so rather than rewriting my comment, I included a genuine smiley face at the end in an (admittedly lazy) effort to preempt/offset any hard feelings resulting from my poorly constructed prose :)

Re: freedom of comment, not at all - was more just trying to point out that irrespective of our views on Steemteam/Polo/HF, the goal of getting Steem tokens listed on another exchange is something we can all get behind.

Re: My templates, no I could cop it - I am quite verbose and a more succinct wordsmith could no doubt write a better template. Was just alluding to the fact my templates were critical of Poloniex and this might not fit with what you'd want to say personally! XD

:)

Actually I just realized I changed the smiley at the end for an exclamation mark, I thought the smiley added to the unintended condescending tone and the exclamation mark made it sound more friendly ... Looking back now, it made it look a lot worse - apologies :)

Ok, now you are making fun of me.
If you look at my comment again it uses language such as "grumpy" and "bite my head off" - i.e. not too serious.

Anyway you've helped me change my mind. Apart from the already 'trapped' transactions, I will no longer be using Poloniex for Steem and SBD. It's just not worth the time, effort and agro.
I haven't done any programming for a while, but even I could write a script to read the Poloniex SteemIt wallet to at least put deposits as 'pending' in the Poloniex exchange wallet while its problems are sorted out.
I'll still use it for other stuff, though. Luckily, I'm on Bittrex as well.

Nah I seriously wasn't making fun of you mate, I have ASD - effective communication really isn't my greatest strength :)

Lets hope it picks up in due time

Hi Tukana, sorry lets hope what picks up?

the exchanges pick up the steem tokens

@ausbitbank Hi mate I know you have been affected by this Poloniex BS personally and hoping this is an initiative you can get behind!

Also, I hereby summon the norse god of Steemit, funny songs and all things crypto ... @fyrstikken I invoke thee and call on you to support this effort to grow the Steemit community!

(Note I don't have the traditional summoning sacrifice of a goat handy - please advise if this is essential and I will have it arranged.)

i'd like to see Bitshares and bitCNY on both Bitfinex and Poloniex.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64349.10
ETH 3502.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54