Sort:  

Many reasons:

  • high computing cost of keeping the articles in memory indefinitely
  • increasing the reward pool
  • burning steem for advertising
  • if you pay for something, you control it, if you don't, you have no control over it

This makes all perfect sense to me.

However I am thinking of this from a user perspective. They want to create content and then get rewarded when it is consumed. The hosting fee makes it a bit complicated. I think it is critical to create a better experience for users on steem vs facebook, reddit or youtube. Currently while you can get paid here it is hard to find content and to get rewarded for content long term.

In my personal experience, every time people pay for something, the value of that something increases. Every time they get something for free, they tend to diminish that something. Not to mention that in sites like Facebook or Twitter, the fact that you don't pay for using them makes you, as a user, the actual merchandise that is sold to advertisers (which, honestly, won't be a terrible problem, if you will get something - alas, you don't get anything, Facebook gets it). So, I stand by my words: this hosting fee will create more value for everybody. But I'm always ready to accept that I'm wrong, if reality proves it so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68091.64
ETH 2633.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68