Steemit, a Hard Place To Find Water

in #steemit7 years ago

Did the recent Hard Fork help anything? Do the Whales hold all the water supply?

Due to the recent Hard Fork many people have been extremely stingy with their upvotes causing minnows to drown and making the platform top heavy. I've noticed, even with my follower base growing, my posts are earning fewer upvotes than when I first began. As the top people on this platform continue to grow at a much faster rate they will continue their dominance if something is not done.

Yes its definitely more motivating after seeing your pending payouts triple or in some cases quadruple, but what's going to happen in a few weeks? Will people begin to lose motivation after seeing the same people constantly having their blog posts on the trending and hot pages?

Quality content is being overlooked and something needs to be done.

Every day I log in, I see people raking in thousands of dollars, while new people on the platform are making cents on the dollar. Granted some people deserve cents due to their quality, but I've seen some helpful posts that the payout is severely undeserving. Will this trend continue?

There are not enough people on this platform that help us Minnows out. There needs to be more users like the @Thecryptofiend who is constantly resteeming quality posts more than he actually blogs. I believe resteeming is the most powerful tool on here that can help and motivate newcomers and continue to grow this platform into one of the top social sites in the world. If you see a quality post resteem it. Let us taste that water.

Sort:  

I feel like I am stuck in the middle. I just started acquiring a following and trending with increased votes, but now it has stalled. I am hoping that this is just a drought and will end as people get more comfortable with the new voting power.

Either way, I plan to keep posting and hope that people will follow.

Atleast youre lucky enough to have gotten on the trending. I feel like this platform will always be top heavy. The Whales are always on the trending page therefore getting more followers and upvotes and the rest of us will drown trying to get to the top. Not sure if youre the one that resteemed this post but if you did thank you! I hope that I can get my opinion across to a larger crowd.

its hard to say i understand what you are saying i see a lot of people talk about the same things getting lots of votes, but i like to talk about different things I'm doing in my life, i hope people will appreciate that one day i know it just takes time, i enjoy posting comments thats the fun in steemit, i will continue to do so

Yeah, but if you try and write a quality blog post and someone receives $300 for just posting one picture. There is definitely something wrong with that picture (Obviously not the picture posted lol) but in general.

Thank you for your words. Finally, I found one. Everyone was happy with HF19. I wrote the same in my 2 weeks review. I see a dramatic drop in activity on steemit on minnow level due to upvote restriction. The whales are not feeling this.
Re-steemed. Thank you again.

Appreciate the resteem! Hopefully we can get this resolved asap!

You're hitting the nail on its head here. Thanks for sharing. I've resteemed.

I appreciate that! Lets do something about this!

whaleshares man...all I can say is learn about it ;)

enlighten me

Do you have an article on it? Would love to learn more.

I too am curious...

Yesss! I keep on putting loads of effort into my posts and hardly getting anything back. I don't want to sound whiney or entitled, but it's just a little disheartening and difficult to know what to do about it. Glad I'm not the only one struggling after a few initial well upvoted posts!

Please resteem and lets get heard! :)

I remain hopeful about the future of Steemit and I think that people need to be prepared to put in the time and effort over the long term. I do understand the frustration with the "wage gap" on posts, but I think all we can really do is continue to support quality content when we see it and trust that those running the system -- including the whales -- have Steemit's best interests at heart.

It just sucks when you spend a few hours putting together a nice artice and get a few bucks and someone posts a picture of fruit and gets $300. There is definitely something wrong with that picture. I believe that newcomers should have a tab at the top for quality content at random

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65651.70
ETH 2676.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91