You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Civil War

in #steemit8 years ago

I do my best to stick to positive interactions. I like to read a lot of articles I may disagree with, but trying to sway certain viewpoints is at times a fool's errand. Several times I've found myself typing a reply, only to end up deleting it instead and reaching for the mute button.
Perhaps I'm building my own little echo chamber, but I like it! I build up the tags that interest me and leave others to do the same. As new communities emerge and the user base grows, fighting may not subside, but it will be less noticeable. I'm certainly not reading all the content on Steemit, but enough to feel the pulse of the community. A user can hit the "new" tab and realistically cruise through the last few hours of all content posted to Steemit. Try that on Reddit or Facebook! Point is, it's still a small world here so the effects are magnified.
To help in the short term, I've heard brainstorming in the past about a "block" feature and I think this should be the next big implementation now that we have a "nsfw" tag filter. A user should be able to block another from viewing their posts & comments. This would of course be only on the site front end, not at the blockchain level. If someone goes out of their way they could still attack a person or tag, but most often people are only attacking what is in front of them. When flag wars start, if one party is unwilling to mute and go their separate way, a block could save some brawling.

Sort:  

awesome comment and input... thanks for sharing.

I think your idea might be a good one... honestly the big annoying elephant in the room right now is #pizzagate and for the most part, a lot of us are tired of seeing it. I agree with berniesanders on that point... now I suggested just get rid of the entire tag together... do away with it... it's inconsistent garbage or exaggerated facts... but maybe we just need to block bernie from seeing what we don't want him to see and it would be convenient to both of us, if that were an option.

not cut and dry.. but an idea to consider and build on.

Thanks. Honestly there has been flak directed at Pizzagate, Steemsports, NSFW, and even anarchy & crypto. Any one of these dominating the front page can deter new sign ups. We're seeing new groups arrive and be active, Pizzagate is one of the latest and can be divisive, but shouldn't be singled out in the conversation. Diversification and growth of the user base are critical.
I also hope there are plans to begin organizing content more. Improving the tag system and mimicking a subReddit style structure as well as enabling creation of user groups would be great. People may look at the Steemit front page and be turned away by the content in present conditions. It would be much better if we could direct a friend or acquaintance to the front page of the community relevant to them on Steemit. I'm sure that many who have joined a site like Reddit did not do so for the site as a whole. They discovered a writers workshop, a photography club, or an online support group that compelled them to join and become active.

very true... I can honestly say I may have focused a bit too much on pizzagate when there are several other trending topics dominating the same way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35