Proposal for a Filtering Feature that will greatly improve the overall usability of steemit.com

in #steemit8 years ago

Recently there were updates regarding users reputation and this proposal will improve the usability of the platform by adding filters to improve the overall experience when looking up at the main listings.


How and why did I felt the need of this?

Yesterday I was looking for interesting post to upvote, I was looking for recent posts at "NEW" and after a while I notice that when I was doing the picking my eyes were looking first at the users reputation inside the circle, and I was looking for user above 50 because there's a higher probability for their content to be interesting.

I notice that what I was doing was working well and I was finding very interesting post's and curating them. Today many of them are at trending page today.

So a few hours ago I decided to sit down and make some mockups to better illustrate the idea. Below you'll be able to find basic ideas to express the concept.

steemit1

With this feature, users would be able to see the filtering option. They would load with preset default setting but the user would be able to choose other filters and settings. For example, in the image, the user is looking at the "NEW" posts and the filter is set to "Reputation" and the settings are from "50" to "99". With this setting, the user would be able to see all the post's from that users.

The same can be used to find new users by lowering the settings. This would enable to find users that be producing good content but with low reputation, for example, new users that started to use the platform. This would help to find and curating posts and users that otherwise would be harder to find.

steemit1

Users would be able to use other filters like for example the "Time" filter.

steemit1

At the end, as a designer, I know this feature would bring strength and would improve greatly the overall user experience on the platform. Regarding implementation, I don't think it's such a hard thing to implement and looking on what it can bring to the overall experience, I think this could be one of those to jump up on the "priority list" of Steemit developments.


To me go HERE! and if you like this, support my blog by upvoting below. Thanks!


Sort:  

This is what i was asking for long ago, i really think this will make a massive difference. Thanks for the post

I'm all for any options which increase flexibility for users, but I'd be concerned for the potential of a 'rich get richer' effect, where only users with high reputation get their posts seen and therefore upvoted. I suppose it really all depends on exactly how people use the reputation system. At any rate, it's food for thought

I don't agree. Using this filters would enable users to find other users with low reputation (new users for example) that are starting and are doing good content. This feature would give that user profits because without the filter his or her post could go un-notice. So this would bring money to users because their posts would have better chances of higher payouts. It would also rise the reputation of that users.

I think it's going to a looooong time before somebody hits a 99 reputation score :p
Logarithmic scale and whatnot.

it's a mockup. I used 99 because I believe it's the highest number. So you could read from 50 to "all"

I like the layout but I also don't thing it right to filter out by reputation. The system already does this by greying and hiding low rep post. In order for people to be able to raise their rep they need as much visibility as possible.

On load, the filters would be active, or would be set as default thou showing stuff as it's seen now. The filters is a plus to optimize the search and curation of good posts.

please read the post with more attention ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94