LATEST NEWS: Payouts are back to 24H - What do you think about it? [ Quick read / Opinion Article ]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

And there are changes again regarding the duration until the payout occurs, now your post will have a minimum 24 hours duration until the first payout.

Personally I think that they should never have changed it to 12 hours. I didn't understand the logic behind it at the time and I still don't. This 24h period it's ideal because this way the post has better chances of overcoming the first publish period and get more traction. It also enables of a higher possibility of being seen and upvoted by the users that on the 12h were sleeping or simply away.

And you? What do you think about this change?


Edit post-publish: I've notice that I can't upvote a post that has been up for a month. Is this new also? I thought a post would always be open for an upvote? Can anyone reply to this question? thanks!


Photo Credits: https://unsplash.com/@sonjalangford
Sort:  

I Also think 24 is much better as you can be on one side of the world when you write something and people in the other side will not read it until at least 12 hours later

I think 24 hours is a much more fair deal considering timezones.

Time zones are an issue. Maybe if it was set at 18 hours that would be better

That's good news, even though I feel slightly bitter that one of my highest paid posts was in the 12 hour window phase. What heights could it have gone to now!!!

If I remember correctly, I think posts over a month old could still be commented on but not upvoted on? Or maybe the upvotes don't do anything - I don't remember and I don't want to look it up right now hahaha!

I don't mind the 24 hours - I really think in the long run the 30 Day thing will help a LOT of posts...

-bigedude

I agree. I prefer the 24 hour period over the 12 so we don't have to worry as much about all time zones seeing it and giving a better chance to get some traction.

I'm with you. It only makes sense to keep it with the day/night cycle, as this allows everyone, from all around the world, to have a chance to see and vote on the post(s).

I can only agree. I proposed this change 2 weeks ago while I was on holidays in Europe.

That sounds great! 12 hr is s bit too short

24 hour period is definitely better for posts. With the 12 hour one you had to think what is the right time to post based on your location and time zone as posting it at the wrong time could've made it even harder to be noticed. I'm not sure about comments though, if they also have changed the time period to 24 hours.

You cannot vote for a post a month older because that is the second pay period, after that there are no more payouts for it and no point in voting, so it gets disabled.

I prefer the 24hr payout period for the simple timezone coverage. I know there are some people who only log on to steemit once a day. (crazy!!!) Having 24 hours allows those folks to have a chance to see each post during the first publish period.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99