Make Your Dtube Thumbnail LARGER On Steemit to Increase Post Value! (WALKTHROUGH)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


So much love to Dtube!

Wanted to start this post with that, I don't want anyone to misconstrue or misunderstand my purpose of this post. Dtube recently put an update in the system that takes whatever thumbnail you upload and resizes it to the native dtube thumbnail size (fitted for the dtube website) but the same post over on Steemit now lacks a bit of luster because the image is resized smaller than the average photo posted on Steemit which results in smaller thumbnails on your steemit posts. Dtube did this because the photos being uploaded were massive in size and were taking longer to load as well as taking up lots of space.

The fix for this is VERY simple, if you do care about how the Steemit frontend version of your Dtube post looks and I personally think psychologically the more screen you can cover for someone the higher the engagement tends to be regardless of content.

In this video I want to walk you through the steps to do it, it's actually fairly easy and could possibly net you a lot higher value on your posts!

Always want to help in whatever way I can, thanks for supporting me Steemians :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for the tip.

omg thank you! i was wondering how to do that!

Haha gotchu dude!

Dude this is awesome af @brianturner. Gave up on trying to work the way out to actually reduce the byte size of thumbnails without actually resizing it to be smaller on Steemit.. This is incredibly helpful my friend @brianturner! Keep lifting, keep building <3

Smart Brian! I was just posting two pictures on my steemit blog to make it work. I didn't think to look more in depth at the code and change the image source. Very helpful thanks

No problem man! Luckily I learned HTML when I was really young so while I don't know anything about other codes it helps to understand how to read abbreviations and coding beginning and ends.

Glad to help bro!

Haha yeah I know basic HTML so I should have been able to figure that out

Damn nice find, how did you figure that out Brian?

Just wondered if editing the photo on steemit after the post would change the image used for thumbnail and it did, so I had to share :)

Thanks for that, its exactly what I needed though still having issues with uploading but will surely get it done ✌

Awesome, I am posting my first dtube video today so this is perfect timing!

you wouldn't have a more basic video for first time posters on dtube would you?

Here's a video that shows how to post on Dtube:

Hope it could help you :)

Thank you! I just about had it but for some reason it gets stuck in the "upload video" thing even though I watched my whole video in the window but when I click submit it tells me to upload a video, am I doing something wrong or is it broken and I should try again later?

Another very helpful video thanks. Get On It!

Wow, thank you so much for this tip! I'm going to edit my previous videos now, Dtube whale, here I come!

Glad to help Craig!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42