You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Bid Bots are Bad for Steemit | Imagine if the NBA Allowed People to Pay to Play in the League?

in #steemit6 years ago

That is hilarious. "you'd also have Tim the 5'8", 250 pound accountant from Madison Wisconsin playing." LOL Tim's such a chubster. LOL

The thing is Steemit's trending page could be fixed so easily. Like they could take in an array of things such as reputation, amount of upvotes, amount of views, amount of comments, and also figure in stake weight into the equation and the percentage of bidbot upvotes. Like if more than 50% of their post value is from bidbots then that would rank it lower.....etc.

In certain situations you could put a little "Sponsored" tag by it if there was too much bidbot activity pushing it up there.

The Trending page seriously has never been without controversy from the beginning of Steemit in 2016. It has always been a subject of conversation and people have had issues with it the entire time for different reasons. I just can't believe that Steemit INC hasn't really worked on solutions and tried them out. They just do nothing in regards to it.

Sort:  

I would almost prefer no tabs at the top and just let the content fall into chronological order. Honestly that's not really a great system but I think it beats the current system as it least its kind of fair and even across the board adn just let the organic content that's good rise to the top. That said there would be so much to sort through in that sense it would make an already difficult system even more difficult.

I don't really follow the inner workings and politics of steemit but are the creators really still involved or have they kind of moved on to other things?

It is a good question because I seriously feel like there are only about 10 or so content creators from 2016 still trying to pump content. Then there are a bunch of them that sort of moved on or became more of the investor aspect and don't actually put content out but are running voting bots and stuff like that .

Then you have the people who came in a year ago when you came in and I feel like most of the people washed out from that and there are still a good little chunk of people still going from that.

Then you have a couple of the new people that have gained some quick success and are continuing on. @annemariemay @coruscate @spenceryan to name a few. The thing that in a way pisses me off is that I see the set of new people and they don't hardly vote for anyone else and then they get DTube support. I had a very hard time getting DLive or DTube votes.

It is almost like I know too much about the system so I can see so much it just pisses me off half the time. Plus there is the very real situation with knowing that I have the skills to be a Witness and would be a good candidate to be a witness for the community but there is like no chance that I would get powerful enough people voting for me and it would actually be unprofitable. It has happened to a bunch of people who have tried to come here and "move up" Then a lot of the Witnesses who are in the top 40 aren't even active here anymore. They just have everything automated for voting and aren't on here day to day.

It is upsetting to say the least.

Sometimes I get kind of bitter about new people who come on and have success right off the bat. Don't get me wrong, I wish everyone success and want everyone to do well, but what's somewhat annoying is sometimes new people will come on, within 2 weeks be making 10x what my posts earn and they still complain about earnings and its like shit I've been grinding almost daily for over a year to do a 10th of what your doing.

The other thing that annoys me more about this is many of these people are kinda fair weathered fans ie when Steem prices are good they are all over the place, when steem prices drop or crypto drops you won't see them for a month and then they come back and everything picks up like they never left earning $15 or $20 per post and while my opinion is not the be all end all of Steemit many times I don't even find their content that great or interesting, they just somehow got a whale or dolphin to take notice early on.

That annoys me not even for myself so much as for people like you who've been on here long before eve,n I who have contributed so much to the community been an ambassador to steemit, welcomed people, helped people, etc.

Yeah trust me I know what you mean. Once in awhile I talk about STEEM in my content but it seems like a lot of times people just end up talking about how STEEM is the best thing ever and continually for the last two years that always has had a higher probability of getting a decent upvote.

But I know what you mean about people's content not being that engaging or useful a lot of times on here. It goes partially to what you were saying about long form content.

But it is strange because some of the stuff on YouTube is in a way meaningless but sometimes we get really pulled in by people's lifestyles or what they are doing on there. One guy who will get served up to me once in awhile is FouseyTube and obviously he got super popular with the fake pranks and now it would be easy to say that his content wouldn't be that interesting but there are certain facets of it that suck me in.

Like at one time he was renting some apartment in LA for $50,000 / month or something insane. Or he will tell some weird story or he will have a new tattoo and somehow I will find myself watching that guy. I don't know if it is because of all the pieces combined and the perception that it is important because he has so many subscribers and gets so many views or what.

I think another reason is that it is hard to make waves on here because of the way the trending page is and in general I feel that most people perceive this system as an unfair system overall so then people are trying to do what they can to work within that environment. I'm not sure.

At this point I'm primarily playing a game of doing content that will get upvoted by Busy.org and eSteems automated system with their delegated power. That is like one of the only reasons any of my posts get above $5 a lot of times. And I have one person who drops some solid votes on me once in awhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57