You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is What is Such Fucking Bullshit About Steemit...

in #steemit6 years ago

I have thought a lot about how to correct things like you are talking about and it is a tough situation because people will create more upvote bots and bots to comment to push themselves onto a trending page if that is how it worked.

The algorithm would have to be super complicated like factoring in reputation weight for a vote or a comment and also factoring in if that account has a good voting distribution or if they just self vote all the time. If a combination of these factors were considered then I think there could be a better payout. Also I'm not opposed to having non intrusive ads at the side of the blog and then doing a revenue split or even if they took that revenue and bot STEEM and did Steem Power air drops to people who have gotten over a certain reputation and are engaging a certain amount with comments, posts, upvotes....etc.

Good work talking shit about Steemit! lol

Sort:  

Yeah that's what really drives me crazy about Steemit. I made 2 back to back posts that did over 140 upvotes and 120 upvotes and neither made over $10.

Obviously I'm somewhat biased, if I had a whale fairy godmother who gave me $30 or $50 per post I'd probably think the current setup was pretty swell lol.

That said it just seems very skewed that I can engage over 100 people to upvote on top of the numerous commnets my posts got, people obviously enjoyed the content and the votes of those 100+ people are not even worth 1/10th of what a vote from a larger user would equate to.

I totally agree it would be nice if there was some slush fund to give some money to posts that get over 100 upvotes or 50 upvotes or whatever it may be. I suppose thats too simple though, people will just create or buy accounts setup bots and have 100 accounts upvoting them so the algorithm like you said would have to be more advanced and take into account how votes are spread around

Yeah it is a tough situation for sure of how to balance it properly. The thing is that makes it so much different as well is that it is an open source platform that people can program on top of. Where there are bots on Twitter and Instagram and all that it is more of a guessing game over there to not get your account deleted by gaming the system to hard.

Here there is no central authority that can just delete an account because it would therefor delete a person's wallet as well so it becomes a rough situation.

I feel ya about a whale fairy godmother. But I'm suprised you don't post your blogs with Busy.org. I have done pretty well just getting upvotes from Busy.pay for using their platform to post. You just have to make one of the tags Busy

I was using busy for a while. Oddly enough I used it mainly to browse and comment, I don' think I've ever actually posted on there. I always seem to forget sometimes just using an alternate steem platform can be lucrative with votes from the platform or audience like dtube and others. I"ll have to keep that in mind. Oftentimes I make my videos or post them on my way out the door to the office in a rush and I'm already logged into Steemit so its just easier to do it that way in a hurry but I'll definitely try posting from busy

Yeah try posting from busy and put busy as one of the tags. It has been a life saver for me honestly getting that upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47