You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Stats: Active Users

in #steemit7 years ago

It is very interesting! Positive progress but I feel like their is a lot of account squatting which might not be a bad play but it is interesting how many accounts have been registered with no activity going on.

Thanks for putting this together!

Sort:  

It's a steep learning curve for many including me and this is a novel departure from the usual 'social networks' out there.
Anecdotally 4 members of my family have joined in June 2017. I'm the only one active as I have read the 44 page white paper and suggested to my family to do the same so they understand the ideas.
I'm pretty certain many people do not research these principles and flounder around for a few days and then give up when they don't make a $100 in five minutes like the YouTube videos told them they would?

True. I think the issue is that this site's advertising making money on your posts, and not all of us will. I think we can get more people with an app for android / ios, as well as marketing that this is just a social media site that we can happen to make money on too.

Yeah I agree some forums just fly better as a mobile app.

Not everyone makes a penny their first post, and the bounce rate of steemit.com has been growing steadily for a long time.

" it is interesting how many accounts have been registered with no activity going on "

I just asked what we can do to improve Steemit and got no replies. The platform is rather stagnant imho.

Sometimes it does seem stagnant in some regards. It is a weird thing sometimes. There are all kinds of things that can be done to improve it. People really like challenges and games on here. Also there is the ability to do 3rd party development and have other apps that will interact with the STEEM block chain.

Agreed. Nothing wrong with reserving a favorite username, but I am guessing they think they'll get rich off of Steem by having and sitting on an account. Takes months and years to understand how blockchain & crypto really work, which is why I'm sure they don't (yet, if ever).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64