It Seems Like Steemit Accounts Are Getting Hacked RIGHT NOW!!! Yikes

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Kate got hacked?  

If you take a look at the trending posts a user that does hiking posts named @katecloud looks like she has been hacked. She had a popular post that had earned a lot and now it is at $0 and there is a message from the hackers directed @dan and @ned

Here is what the hackers changed the post to read.  

Here is one of my favorite clips from the movie Independence Day so we can all get pumped up and stand up to the hackers!  

#steemit #steem #hack #news #breakingnews #hackers 

Sort:  

Good catch sir - Upvoted for visibility.

Thanks! Some people are having problems with withdraws. I hope this hack can be quashed quickly.

Great Post!

Thanks Weenis! I have grown to count on you to upvote!

Oh, I never thought YOU were a bot. Carry on, good sir! It's a great post that needs to be seen. I just thought Weenis was a bot. Someone just told me that he actually might have a bot that runs from time to time after-all!

You just keep spamming. Are you a bot?

Im just enthusiastic! not speak prefect english. not all is bot. Also... please share your definition of spam?

@crypt0 are you saying I'm a bot or you think weenis is a bot? I don't think weenis is a bot. I think that is his strategy.

Ahhh! Apologies! I thought you might have been a computer program executed to leave comments on every post put up, since i saw your name everywhere. I was wrong, as you're just excited! =D I actually share your excitement man

crypt0, I had seen weenis comment on new posts with the same text multiple times. He may have used a bot in the past to post for you. Maybe. Now he seems to have recovered.

@crypt0 Yeah I'm not a computer program but I can sort of understand why you would think that. I was sort of trying a new strategy tonight with my news post. I was upvoting non-spam post and making a relevant comment about it and then linking to the account hacked news that I posted. I was trying to get it to 30 upvotes so that hopefully some Whales would wake up from their slumber and notice it instead of it just getting covered up with the repost spam stuff and all that. Plus I did a really thought out post earlier about Tinder and Steemit but it lost power because it was in the middle of the night.

It's a shame that people do these things... I hope this problem will be resolved in the near future!

This is journalism. Clear, concise and to the point, well done sir.

Thank you Steve. Growing up I always wanted to work at the Daily Planet. Then Twitter came along and I realized within 5 seconds that it was stupid and it was a bot orgy. Now we have this amazing platform #Steemit Long live the blockchain!

Напиши про спам))))

Upvoted for commenting! I can't read it though!

My guess is a weak password was involved. People are horrible at creating passwords. We should never be trusted with the task. There are tools like keepass that while they are better than nothing, do not represent an ideal solution, because you don't easily have access to you password on seperate devices.

Here is truth. Passwords just suck. We should not be using passwords for deriving a key. This is the brain wallet problem we've been facing since 2010 when the first brain wallet schemes were launched.

You need multifactor authentication of which part may be a password.
When you think multifactor auth you think SMS and this is wrong minded.
I have a solution that I believe will work and it's blockchain friendly and portable. It's also a bit too long for comment. So I'll make a new posting about it here shortly.

I agree on the password stuff. It is tough to deal with. Also having these as web wallets right now has to provide holes for these hackers to get through. Let me know when you get your post up about the non SMS multi-factor solution you have. I would love to read about it!

сам ты бот

Actually... Look at how many upvotes the post garnered though... Did this mass of bots just home in on @Katecloud no matter what she posts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81