Austin Steemit Meetup a Success!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I went to the first steemit meetup in Austin, TX tonight and it was a great success! Fourteen people showed up and it was awesome to meet all of them and talk about our steemit experiences.

Of course I need to give a big thanks to @richardcrill and @lindseylambz for putting it together. They even made some rad tee-shirts to give out.

We're going to keep meeting and I'm sure it will keep growing. A few of the people there had just started their accounts within the last day or two, and this was a great way to introduce them to all steemit has to offer.

My wife is off in Iceland with my new camera, so I didn't get any pictures, but I think with time we can get as many people as there were on the South Congress bride waiting for the bats.

Now that I think about it, a steemit meetup to watch the world's largest urban bat colony would be a nice event that is uniquely Austin. Especially if we could somehow acquire a steam powered party boat.

It was great hanging out with @richardcrill, @lindseylambz, @ruwan, @nathanedge, @xtrordinarypilot, @sagewords, @lenadr, @post.apocalyptic, @kittenlaw, @cabelindsay, and the others whose steemit handles are still waiting for confirmation or I forgot to write down.

Talking to actual people who are also interested in steemit, instead of just small pictures and names online, made it feel more real in a way. Most people I talk to about steemit in real life tend to brush it off as some weird internet thing, but at that table we were all in.

It's also encouraging to hear about everyone else's successes and struggles. Knowing others are going through the same ups and downs as I am makes me more motivated to keep posting and keep improving. I'm excited to keep this community going and be inspired by all of y'all.

If you weren't there and live in or near Austin, get in touch. We'd love for you to join us!


Since the clock just ticked past midnight and it's now officially wednesday, and since keeping Austin weird was one of my big inspirations for it, I have to plug #weirdwednesday.

#weirdwednesday like the strangeness it inspires, isn't easily defined or contained. But we've all got a bit of weirdness in us, so why not let it out in whatever medium you choose, whether it be a short story or a collage made of 1980's magazine ads.

Read a bit more and see some previous posts over here


Sort:  

Thank you so much for coming! It was so awesome to finally meet you in person :)

Indeed it was, now I just wish it would cool down so we can go hiking

Yes, me too!! I downloaded that trail app you told us about & there's a ll these trails that I had no idea existed near us - can't wait for fall!

yeah it's very useful. I knew Austin had some good trails, but I had no idea how many hidden ones there are. I used it when I was visiting California too and that was great as well.

Sounds like a great time! I wish that I could have attended! It's nice that people can meet up and share ideas for sure! @brevebronovan @richardcrill @lindseylambz

I had a great time. Nice meeting you too.

Great to meet you too! Look forward to seeing you again

Here's a new illustration for you, in honor of "Weird Wednesday," after last night's Austin Steemit Meetup.

That's great dude, I dig the colors and I always love bats

huh.
I missed it.

There will be more! @richardcrill set up a discord server for us too, so we can figure out when is best for everyone for the next meetup

What! @everittdmickey coulda been there and he wasn't! If I'd have know it was a possibility, I'd have made sure and given you a personal invitation. I didn't realize or forgot you were in the area. We will be having another in a month or less. We'd love to have you. look for the next post or keep up with the Austin Steemit Community Discord Channel

Thanks...
you said '
Now that I think about it, a steemit meetup to watch the world's largest urban bat colony would be a nice event that is uniquely Austin. Especially if we could somehow acquire a steam powered party boat.
I think THAT would be awesome.

I'm all for it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sevenknife from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Somebodey knows if there will be a Steem Meetup somewere in Europe (Berlin, Paris or Vienna)?

I do not know, but I imagine there would be. If you can't find one happening, try setting it up yourself

Hope you enjoyed those t-shirts!

This really was a lot of fun! Looking forward already to the next one! :)

When's the next one? Im arriving to ATX soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51