A Tutorial on Rewards

in #steemit7 years ago

Here are a few tips and guidelines for newcomers to steemit ...


_Titled.png


1. Upvote for upvote, follow for follow, and resteem for resteem are the wrong tactics to take. Your upvote, for instance, depends on your steem power and your voting power. Don't know what these are? Check the following link: https://steemd.com/@brentssanders (replace my steemit user name in the address with yours).
2. Also, in case you are wondering how you are paid, you make your main earnings off the upvotes on your posts and comments. You do NOT get paid for resteeming, although it can be a good idea to resteem if you think any of your followers will upvote the post AFTER you, not BEFORE you.
3. Finally, according to my sources, the best time to upvote posts or comments (to get 100% of 70% of the rewards -- it gets a bit complex here), you should upvote at the 30th minute, not before and not after. If, on the other hand, you want to forfeit your earnings to the author of the post or of the comment, vote at the 1st minute!

That is my quick tutorial for minnows. Any comments? Any questions? Any qualifications? ;)

Ciao за now!

Sort:  

Informative post, I do know about the prime time for curating, but I dont have the time or patience to be catching each post at the right time so my upvotse are when I see a post like this one 2 hours after your post

I'm the same, though sometimes I set my timer so I'll remember when to upvote.

Helpful post..A debt of gratitude is in order for sharing it

Glad I could be of assistance!

it is a great informative post..
i will wait for next tutorial

Thank you so much for providing information about this

You're welcome :)

This post has received gratitude of 0.75 % from @appreciator thanks to: @brentssanders.

Because this continues to be a source of confusion for me I need some clarification with visual aids.... you are saying the curation rewards I am receiving here are from me upvoting these posts and have nothing to do with resteeming? And, the varying amounts I received depended on when I upvoted them?

I don't know why this one is so hard for me to understand. Perhaps it's purely my belief that resteeming should be rewarded somehow.

These are your rewards for comments you authored, NOT for resteeming. The award amounts depend on 1) the voting power of the upvoter, and 2) when the person upvoted the comments.

The picture above is from my Curation Rewards History and the one below is from my Author Rewards History. Below, the arrows are showing comments that I made that were upvoted. So, I am getting rewarded in both places for my comments?

Author Rewards.jpg

Actually, you're right. I suspect the curation rewards, then, are what you get for the upvotes made AFTER you upvote the post or comment.

Ok. Thank you for your continued help in understanding what is going on here.

It helps me, too :)

Reminds me of how I learned to teach -- by teaching!

At first, when students would ask "Why is [such and such] the correct way to say it, and not [some other way]?" I would answer -- "Just because."

It took years of research and practice to learn how to present the rules in such a way that students could understand them.

I am certain to keep the "whys" coming just because that's how I am. Keep up the great work, Dude!

I literally just vote when I feel like it haha

Now that's a winning strategy :D

More fun that way haha

Well, it seems to be working for you, whatever your strategy is! Maybe it helps keep you in that creative state? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44