You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking after my family by not looking after my family

in #steemit7 years ago

I just bought my first bullion yesterday with some cash from selling some bitcoin. It is a real tangible form of money, and a good diversification option, even though I am still mainly staying in crypto.

Also, all hoarding and no spending is no way to live or to keep the crypto economy going. You grow crypto by using it in an economy, not just hodling. My first purchase was a pair of alpaca wool socks, which I paid about 2.5 BTC for at the time. My wife likes to bring up how much 2.5 BTC would be worth now compared to the value of the socks, but for me they were a real tangible proof that bitcoin worked and I could use it for an international purchase without any banks or credit card companies involved. I don't regret spending any more than the guy who paid 10,000 BTC for pizza would.

Sort:  

Exactly. That anecdote may be the only reason bitcoin has grown to its present size.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62284.56
ETH 2424.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58