Celebrating my first 7 days on Steemit! over 300 followers!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It's been just over a week since I joined Steemit.
I have over 300 followers and I received my first payout! hooray!

There's a lot to get your head around here in terms of what is the best way to maximise the use of the platform.
Some things I've learnt:

  • Your votes are worth more when you use them less
  • Steem, SBD, and Steem power are all very different.
  • Whales are your friends
  • People want to help you, ask the community and you'll probably get the answers you need.
  • Comment if you have something to add, not just to be seen. Don't spam. People hate spam
  • Bananas are full of potassium
  • Post interesting content, cat videos don't cut it here.
  • interaction is better than just following someone.
  • The system rewards those who are involved

It's a very complicated system here. But the more you learn, the more interesting it becomes.

What are some interesting things you've learnt about Steemit? Or what concepts are you still struggling with?

P.S - Despite all that: Will follow for follow ;)

Sort:  

Thanks wonderful and congratulations! Have you heard of the minnow support project? You can grow in the Discord chat!

https://discord.gg/gFNtb tons of help and bots that upvote.

I think I am in that group. I didn't post a link to this post cos it says don't post your own stuff :)

Glad to hear and I hope to see you there.

Feel free to be the one who shares my post in that group :)

Perhaps you did! Thank you!

Congratulations @brendanmcpherson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! Excellent results. Keep up the good work

Boom! Keep up the good work friend.

Your votes are worth more when you use them less
nope...exactly WRONG.
your votes are what your votes are worth
use em or loose em..

interesting. This conflicts other information I've been given.
Doesn't your voting power continue to diminish until it's at 0%?

https://steemd.com/@brendanmcpherson looking at the chart your voting power is now 75% the more you vote, yes the less the power of the vote. Don't vote pointlessly in my opinion, cheers!

yup..but if you don't USE IT...it goes away.
use it or loose it...it doesn't matter how powerful it is.
you can NOT save it.

if you don't have a vote slider...
don't worry about it.
vote to your hearts content.

What do you mean it goes away? Do you mean if it gets to 100% and I'm not giving out votes?

yuup...exactly.
consider a rainbarrel.
it can only hold so much.

it rains...the barrel fills UP.
the steem...it keeps trickling IN.

if you use some of the rain for drinking or something else
the barrel never fills up.
if you vote your steem...the barrel never fills up.

If you don't drink the rain...the barrel fills up and overflows onto the ground..
so sad.
if you don't vote your STeem...same thing.
only sadder..

Ok cool, I understand. I read somewhere that if you vote around 20 times a day you will stay at a pretty high percentage. Not sure how valid that is anymore.

It's 11 full powered votes per 24 hours now. You're welcome ;)

it's not.
old news before HF19 changed the rules.

Thanks

Also thanks guys, I think because steemit is still in beta there's a lot of changes being made but there's still old info out there that isn't accurate anymore.

You said a mouthful.
I tend to forget it's still in beta.
Somehow...I don't think that word is accurate when it comes to Steem
Steem will ALWAYS change...that's part of it's charm

Welcome mate. Keep posting good content and the votes will flow. Appreciate whatever is thrown your way! Cheers

Great results man, hopefully I get the same results as you. Slowly but surely building my following.

Congratulations! I got 300+ too but, it took me much longer than you to get there heheheheh xD, anyway we are making progress and that is very good 😊

Congrats! keep up the good work! Following!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06