Steemit Common Questions For New Users - What is reputation score and how to Increase your reputation score?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Q: What is the number that next to my name?

A: The number next to a Steemit user name is call reputation score. This score will determine the amount of value a user have brought to the community.

The higher the reputation score you have, the more your posts will be visible to your followers and the community, and people here always trust, follow more for users with high reputation score.

The lower the score you have, the more likely you will be seen as a spammer.

Every new user starts off with a reputation score of 25.

Try to keep it as high as you can.

Note: Steemit will hide your post if your reputation score go down to 0.

Q: How do I Increase my reputation score?

A: Think of your score as game levels.

You start as level 25. In order to level up to 26, you need a certain amount of experience. You can earn these experience through people up-vote your posts or your comments. And when you have enough experience, you level up :D

NOTE: the amount of experiences you received from each vote will be different depend on the reputation score and Steem Power of the person that vote. 

example: one up-vote from a user with reputation score of 60 and lots of Steem power can help me level up to 26. Mean while i will need 10 up-vote from 10 users with level 25 to help me level up to 26.

Q: What causes my reputation score to go down?

A: When some one with higher reputation scores Down-vote your posts or comments, then your reputation score will go down.

if someone with lower reputation scores than you Down-vote you, this will have no effect at all to your reputation score

Sort:  

Good basic and worthwhile information.

Great post and informative. I didn't know about the max rep score, wealth of knowledge thank you. UpVoted, Resteemed.

Hello
Thanks for the info. My wife and I have been wondering hove the dollar amounts are posted. We are still at 25 reputation so please help us as well and upvote and follow. Thanks again.

Im a newbie here, just registered a week ago I think. Thank you for this informative guide.

followed/upvoted. I literally just posted something asking about this exact thing and someone referred me to this. Well written. Thank you!

Your question lead me here too @queeneleanor, thanks Your Majesty

Thank you for this post I was wondering about this.

Excellent article, great knowledge i was unaware of.
https://steemit.com/@queeneleanor

Thanks for this useful information. Is there a maxium score?

Just now I was wondering how this reputation thing works. Thanks for the Q and A

I just find this info very helpful and interesting @breaktheinternet would you mind if I translate this to Spanish. I'm going to state that you are creator of it, of course.

Nice article. Just thinking about that.
But what can we do to make the post visible to experienced users?

As i have seen that even if i write quality post, i don't get much vote.

Here steem power is more preferred than quality of posts. Steem devs should do something about that. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42