Are STEEM bots worth it? Or a waste of money?

in #steemit7 years ago

158DA2BF-4D41-425C-A3B4-8DE4D36B623D.jpeg

I’ve asked my self countless times if paying Steem bots hard earned Steem actually give you a profit. Does anyone know the logical answer to this question? I mean if I send 5 SBD to a Steem not (whale, upvoter, etc) and they upvote $10, does the $10 add up to more USD than 5 SBD does? Are you guys following me?

If the answer is yes, Steem bots are worth it, then I definitely will start to use them again because I’m looking for any way possible to build my wallet.

Feedback would be appreciated.

CA9D941E-95B5-4CA2-8A51-F1540515EB67.jpeg

268B27F6-91A9-4DCA-966D-0603F7FF0D7E.jpeg

Sort:  

REG UPVOTE.jpg

I've gone back and forth on this for a while but i still don't know how to calculate it all. i know it can bring new steemians to your posts but doesn't offer much value above what you put in it SBD wise.

and part of me wonders if whales will not vote you since you already have some money on it. not sure......

Hopefully it gets simpler soon.

You can actually see your ROI from Booster here: http://steem.cool/booster/

A good resource I found about Booster: https://steemit.com/steemit/@flauwy/the-best-way-to-use-booster-and-make-a-profit ... (although the way he explains is a bit confusing) ... but essentially you can see that it's basically a lotto every 2.4 hours, and one that you have to monitor to see if you're actually even profiting. I haven't found a way to monitor the others, but essentially they all seem to be the same in a hit or miss sense. I don't see a scenario where you ever lose a ton of money, or make a ton either.

The way I look at the upvotes is this: and @brandonscalera, you spoke to this in one of your other posts that it takes Steem to make Steem. Look it at like Google. You have your organic results and then you have your paid results. Little guys always have to use paid results when coming in, because you will never be able to compete with years of organic ranking and following, being a "household name", etc.

@itinerantartist, I recently saw a post by one of our Cryptocoaster dolphin friends, and the post essentially had a meme of a middle finger, and then he made mention to people who pay for votes and told them to f*** off. It irritated me. Good for you, dolphin friend, you've been here since inception when there wasn't any competition whatsoever and made a name for yourself, and now any random snapshot you take and post will get at least $5 in votes without using any bots. Cool, here's a cookie. Don't hate on the people whose posts will die out in the wind over and over again without a little boost.

@itinerantartist ... what you're doing seems to be working, as I can see that you are gaining a natural organic following as you go along, and your posts aren't filled with only bot comments likes mine lol. They are starting to be filled with actual followers that look forward to your content. I say, keep the path that you're on. Let the bots help you until you don't need their help anymore. But don't expect that you're making any ROI on them, as far as dollars. I think the value lies in getting your post out there, and finding a sweet spot. I mean, a whale has upvoted a post of yours that had a little boost before, so that debunks your theory there.

this is by far the best explanation and presentation of the bot system. you should really copy this, expand on it a little, and turn it into a post. make sure to tag @minnowsupport and other accounts because i think this does a great job at explaining both sides. also your opinion and experience as a marketing professional in the digital landscape also gives it credibility. i look forward to the post :)

Okay I will. I should probably do more technical posting anyway. Glad it made some things a little more clear!

I find that when I use my SBD i don't always get all the SBD back that I paid but I also receive SP which is what I am ultimately striving for... paying bots for votes is a strategy I plan on continuing to use for this sole reason alone

Sometimes YES sometimes NO. Here is why yes, when the large internet population is sleeping that time if you pay to bot you will get good return. Since few people pay for the bot. Where in case of other, people putting large money on boots which cause the bot's Current ROI to go in negative. This makes you loss.

You will almost never make your money back from bid bots... at least not directly. If the bid gives you enough exposure to get you trending or hot, then you could get the money back from the other people who upvote your post, but there's not enough return from the bod bots. Also, they normally get oversold, so you can lose a lot of money bidding with them. I have tried them, but I can't personally recommend them. It's mathematically too difficult to even break even. If you can find someone who will give you a fixed vote of 2.3x or more you should make your money back, but it's hard to do. You might check Minnowbooster or SmartSteem.

I just this week used a bot for my first time, so I am still in the "trying to fully understand it stage". I am only buying little 0.10 to 0.50 at a time. Have I been lucky or did I hit on understand the math without realizing it, I don't know. But, I have come close to breaking even or making money on each one. Those that didn't make back 100% from the bot vote, received a few other upvotes from people I had never seen before. With those additional upvotes, I made at least a little on all of them.

Sneaky-ninja offered an somewhat long winded explanation and you have to work you way through the anime talk and also read the post of his love Kusari to get the whole picture. But it made sense to my old brain.

I am not trying to get upvotes here, but the only way I know to show you so you can read what he wrote is to give you a link to my post where it was wrote at. It is rather long winded and there is obviously an argument between him and grumpycat. If you can get past that as see the work behind it, it is worth the effort. At least it was for me.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@fernowl13/foraging-carolina-geranium-edible-and-medicinal-wild-food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81