You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Advice Would You Give To A Beginner On Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Go up top to "Submit a Story". In the bottom right of your post editor, you will see a "Rewards Option:"

That is what I'm talking about. You can select from 3 options.
50/50 - this pays you half in Steem power and half in STEEM dollars
Power Up - this puts all your rewards into Steem power
Decline Payout - This will make it so you get no payout from your post

What I read before is you'll get more Steem power if you take 50/50 then convert your STEEM dollars into Steem power on your own.

Another thing to take into consideration is STEEM dollars are liquid. Steem power is not. Steem power takes some time to power down, so it is sort of locked into the system for a time. Holding Steem power will help you earn more. But holding STEEM Dollars will NOT help you earn more.

Since I am just a little guy, I keep almost everything in Steem power.

Sort:  

I too am new to the community, and this comment was super helpful for understanding the payout stuff! Thank you boat loads!

I'm sure i read somewhere that Steem power is locked in for 2 years but i'm not certain on that. I'm also new so may be getting my wires crossed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59887.64
ETH 2670.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47