Yet another reason to use Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello!

I found this article, "How Facebook's tentacles reach further than you think", about Facebook from today´s BBC website interesting, in that it clearly shows (for those who don´t already know ) just how far Facebook goes to collect our information and then use it to profile us.

http://www.bbc.com/news/business-39947942

Vladan Joler from Sharelab hits the nail on the head when he says:

"All of us, when we are uploading something, when we are tagging people, when we are commenting, we are basically working for Facebook."

As a relatively new Steemian, this makes me happy to be part of the Steemit community. :)

Source:

http://www.bbc.com/news/business-39947942

Sort:  

Consider this: since SteemIt is a blockchain, nobody's stopping anyone else from just datamining from the blockchain and getting your information, uploads, and using it for profit.

This means that SteemIt is only better than FB because it pays people for posting. But that doesn't mean that personal information, habits, and personality profiles aren't being logged anyway.

Well put @surgo. Thank you.

By including the above comment, "All of us, when we are uploading something, when we are tagging people, when we are commenting, we are basically working for Facebook," my intention was to imply that we are "working for Facebook"...for free. :)

Well, I don't mind working for Facebook as long as the payoff is there - I mean, they are supplying a well-developed platform which allows me to stay in touch with my family, manage my social circles, and expand my business in a very active way.

Steam doesn't do half of that yet. There's no way to stop seeing particular tags from my feed, for example.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97