Would it be possible to blockchain Charity with Steemit? I wish for that "spend 1% of my rewards"-Button!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3990.JPG

I'm here since last week. I am a total newby. My English has to be reactivated and I have to learn another new language: "Blockchainish". I know little yet. What I know is, that I love the idea of decentral "organizations".

I came here through @surfermarly. We know us since childhood, lost contact and now found us on facebook again. I followed there what she was doing ("what the hell is this anyway: this "Steemit and Crypto-Stuff?!"")
She has her own charity project on Steemit called "Dreams of the Ocean". I'm deeply impressed by her trying to do something good.

What I was wondering about now: would it be possible to blockchain charity on Steemit? I had the idea of an option-button in the editor or something similar, with which all users could spend a small percentage of their rewards to a social or environmental project.

Of corse everybody can spend their rewards anyway. But we all know people like it easy. It would be just one click. Imagine how much money we could collect.
Imagine a worl wide community could take over influence on how the world develops.

Sure I see the problem of organizing something like this.
It would need something like a "Steemit Charity"-platform. Maybe the community could vote there for projects, where the total amount of collected Steem Dollars of maybe one week shall go to. It would need people who host this. People who can be trusted.

And I also have no idea of how many charity organizations know how to deal with crypto. So before spending, I suppose we would have to transform it to fiat.

Of corse we also just could support charity projects that already are on Steemit. With a platform where all these projects are collected.
The problem with this: you need to know in which of these can be trusted. It could be an invitation to people to fake charity accounts.

So far my thoughts on this topic.
It is just a small idea. With many problems that would have to be solved. But I love the idea of that button.
What do you think about it?

Sort:  

You are too sweet :-) Thanks for the mention!!

On beginnings of January 2017 Steemit Inc. presented a roadmap. According to that strategy paper, one of the goals for 2017 was the so called community feature. In easy words: a tool to build sub-communities within the Steemit community. Having this feature would enable us to group people according to their interests - one of them could be charity. The feature hasn't been introduced yet, but in Lisbon the developers informed us that it's still one of their priorities and will come in 2018. That's actually GREAT news!

Also the next big milestone of the developers team will be the implementation of Smart Media Tokens, a protocol that enables (theoretically) everybody to build their own tokens and related eco-systems on the Steem blockchain. Like: BrainnipperCoins (not kidding) :-)

Maybe half of that will sound like Bahnhof to you now, haha! It's Steemit Chinese - lol. Well let's say it like that: there are several projects going on that will help us to implement a lot of things we've got already in our heads.

2018 will be huge for Steemit and Steem in any case!!! So you joined in the perfect moment :-)

LOL!! "brainnipper"... what a name for a currency!!! XD

And that sounds interesting. So I'll wait for time to come! ^^

this is one awesome idea ty.

Thank you! I just wonder, how to make this idea popular and if it would work. My brain will stay spinning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67