You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Are Steemit Users Powering Down and Leaving?

in #steemit6 years ago

liquidate some of their hard-earned SP before the final cataclysmic event of Steemit going belly up.

I really hope you're wrong... I'm in the process of talking to some companies in the real world to invest in some Steemit initiatives that I have, and that requires a "fair amount of fiat" to be invested into Steem (right now feels like a great time to do so with the price being so low)... if Steemit does indeed go belly-up though and I was the one convincing them to invest, it could have some pretty bad real-world implications for me :P

Re bidbots though: I have absolutely no problem with them... your experience seems to be "pretty lucky"... I don't use bidbots unless I'm prepared to make a loss... all too often the bids exceed the positive ROI level. That being said... my 2 cents on bots:
Bots are "no different" to using Google Adwords.

"Quality content" is very subjective, and with the exception of clear-cut spam/plagiarism, I think anyone should be allowed to spend as much as they want/can afford on bidbots... whether it be for quick buck or to actually try reach more users via trending/hot lists etc.

Either way... thanks for the heaps of articles and links I've bookmarked for further reading now from this (and your recent) post :-)

Sort:  

If that sounds too gloom-and-doom, keep in mind that it is not my sentiment. I'm simply trying to make sense of the tea leaves.

If I'm wrong, it's not me that's wrong. :-)

On bidbots, good perspective. I think the frustration, for a lot of people, is that they check trending topics and see a bunch of low-quality posts bid up by bidbots. I don't check trending topics, so that doesn't affect me. But I've heard that.

Thanks for reading, and for commenting.

Bots are "no different" to using Google Adwords.

Interesting comparison. I see your point even if I'm not sure I agree. The blogger is spending money to get a return. I guess there's the similarity, but few people are selling things on the Steemit blogs. It is an investment, however, and I think that's like Google AdWords, for which a person hopes but is not guaranteed a return.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36