If I can do it, anyone can! - 6 months on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

200 + Followers and 10,000 SP


For me, every hundred followers is a major milestone. I have virtually no online presence, I don’t post my content anywhere outside of Steemit, and I don’t spend much time networking, so it takes me time to acquire followers and build an audience. Recently, though, I am very happy to say that I have crossed the 200-follower mark and, in addition to that, I have also reached my first base goal of accumulating 10,000 SP, all of which has been earned solely from curating and posting content.

To those of you who regularly read my content, follow me, and support me with your votes, Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I can’t thank you enough!


Mile Markers.jpg


For anybody out there who thinks that they can’t begin from nothing on Steemit, believe me, you can.


When I first joined Steemit last August, I only knew two people who were using the platform--@kafkanarchy84 and his wife (I now personally know three). For most of July and half of August, I read many of the Steemit posts that @kafkanarchy84 linked to on his Facebook page. At the end of every post, I saw fabulous amounts of money being attributed them. After a few weeks of reading these posts, I sent @kafkanarchy84 a message asking him if Steemit was for real. When he said it was, I thought,

If this platform is legitimate, I want in.

After hearing that the money was real, I joined. Just like everyone else, I was intrigued by the possibility of making money through writing and posting original content. I still am.

When talking about Steemit, many people over the past few months have tossed around the slogan, Come for the money, stay for the community. I think that’s a great slogan, and I’m sure there are a lot of great communities forming within the ranks of Steemit members, but if I’m completely honest about it, community is not what has kept me here. I have stayed because I really enjoy being paid to write, and Steemit is the easiest place that I know of to do this.

Yes, I enjoy a lot of the content that I find on Steemit. Yes, I have connected with some great people on Steemit. Yes, the positive attitude of many other Steemians has helped to make the last six months very enjoyable. But what really keeps me creating content and posting on Steemit is the incentive of being paid to do something that I love and having direct access to a potential audience that is growing every day.


So how have I gone from the 5 SP I got when I signed up to 10,000 SP and from 0 followers to over 200 followers in six months without having any previous blogging experience, without having much free time, without doing much networking, without cross-posting on other platforms, and without having an online following to bring to Steemit?


Well, before I started writing, I thought about what I could write about. I thought about what was interesting to me, what I was knowledgeable of, and what there might be a market for. After brainstorming for a few days, I narrowed my focus down to parenting (I am a parent), raising bilingual children (something that I am trying to do), and everyday life in Japan (the place that I live and work, and a country that many people want to know more about).

While writing my very first post, I recognized that an important part of a platform like Steemit is catching people’s attention, so I worked really hard on creating a title that I thought would be intriguing. Then, I worked really hard on writing a post that I thought would not only be interesting, but would also provide valuable first-hand experience and worthwhile information to its readers. Perhaps it was just good timing and pure luck, but my first post was upvoted by a whale and gained me a few followers. Shortly after that, I was fortunate enough to be featured in a newsletter written by @kafkanarchy 84, who had over a hundred followers at that time. Being featured in this newsletter gave me a few more followers and from there, I was off to what I think was a pretty good and fortunate start.

Since then, I have worked very hard to write almost every day with the time that I have available. This has meant writing at work whenever I have ten, fifteen, or twenty minutes of free time. It has meant writing notes on the memo pad of my phone when walking, eating, and going to the bathroom. It has meant working on four or five posts at a time—quickly giving up one for another whenever I feel stuck. In short, it has meant being very conscious of the time that I have to write and doing my best to make use of every minute of it so that I can post original content with mostly original images at least three or four times a week.

When I first started writing for Steemit, I fumbled for a bit, as is natural. I had a number of zero payout posts. Quite a few of my first posts, posts that I worked very hard on, only garnered ten or fifteen votes. It was discouraging. But, I felt confident in my ability to write and I kept honing my product until I arrived at what has become a long-running serial post for me—This Is Japan (Explore everyday life in Japan).

I would guess that over eighty percent of my posts are dedicated to what I have found to be everyday aspects of living in Japan, aspects of life here that I assume many people probably don’t know much about. It is a niche topic, yes, so I don’t expect it to grow very quickly, but it is a topic that many people have an interest in, so I know that it is something that can provide value.


In any market, you either need a name or a product.


I’m not famous. I don’t have a personal name that I can use to sell my content, but over the past six months I have created what I think can be considered something of a product. The titles of over eighty percent of my posts are purposely the same (This Is Japan) so that people see my product and immediately recognize it.

I could be wrong, but I think that this is something that helped me get noticed by the curators involved with the Curie Project. That, and possibly the original photos that I use in an attempt to draw potential readers in. Whatever the case, after a month or so of struggling on Steemit, the Curie Project began featuring a number of my posts. This led to higher payouts and a slowly growing number of followers. It opened doors to many other things (being supported by other guilds, receiving the powerful votes of whales, and being placed on voting trails). Now, I find myself where I am today, with a little over 10,000 SP and more than 200 followers.

To some, these numbers may not seem like much, but to me, a person who doesn’t have much time to spend on blogging and networking, a person who started out with 5 SP and 1 follower, they are very significant.

I’ve worked hard and I’ve gotten lucky. And in some cases, I’ve gotten lucky because I’ve worked hard.

To those of you who are just getting started and are struggling to get your footing, I am here to tell you,

Don’t give up! You can do it! Believe me. If I can do it, anyone can do it!

Write daily. Produce content that is honest and that you enjoy. Reach out to others. Use Steemit chat. Help others get started. Help others get noticed by your readers and by the guilds and by doing so, you, too, will get noticed in return.


Once again, THANK YOU to everyone who has supported me over the past six months. I really appreciate all of your help!


lamps-1030901_1920.jpg


Lastly: If anyone has any advice for me on how to improve my writing and move toward becoming a full-time writer, I’m all ears. Thank you!

Image Credits: Pixabay

Sort:  

Very inspiring read! I started here about three weeks ago, and am trying to shake my feelings that I "got here too late," but it seems like there's a solid community growing here... now I am hoping I might be able to "pull" more people here from other venues... I do blog elsewhere, but have grown tired of dealing with mainstream blogging venues; they lack the "social" aspect I am finding here.

Anyway, congratulations on your milestones!

I don't think you're too late at all. I missed the big money payout period as well, and since then things have been becoming a lot more even and consistent. This whole experiment isn't even a year old yet, so I think you're pretty much still getting in on the ground floor.

Thanks for the comment and the congratulations! I look forward to seeing some of your posts!

Congratulations on you ~
I also celebrated with 100 followers recently. ^^
Resteem and vot!

That's great! It's a good feeling, isn't it? Thank you for resteeming!

Yes. I did it too 100 followers. ^^
Thank you

Congratulations!

Congratulations. Great milestone. Stephen

Thank you! It feels great to be reaching goals. I hope you're making progress on your own goals as well.

You are very welcome. I have been blogging to Steemit for 6 months now and I have surpassed my expectations of what the site was going to be like. I am very pleased so far and very excited for the future. Good luck. Stephen

Inspiring post. I like the idea of building a brand. I guess my content is a mix of topics and I haven't built a distinct brand yet. I will check out your posts about Japan

Thank you. Please do. I also write about a few topics, but I have been focusing mostly on, as you say, building a brand of sorts. I've seen other writers on Steemit recommend not writing about too many topics so that your followers know what to expect. I think that's probably pretty good advice. Thanks for the comment!

Congratulatons on 200+ followers and 10,000 SP, it's well deserved!!

Thank you as always! I hope all is well with you.

Congrats! The only advice I can offer about being a better writer is to write everyday. And read. Read lots of books.

Thanks for the advice. I'm working on the writing. Since I've come to Japan, though, reading as fallen to the wayside quite a bit. I'll try to work on that.

Congrats! I love seeing encouraging stories like this. The best thing you've built is community.

Thanks for the comment, Luke. I really enjoy reading all of your thought-provoking posts and wish I had more to add in the comments. Usually, I just click upvote, though, and spend the rest of the afternoon thinking about what you've posted about. I'm curious to hear more about your experiences with the breathing techniques, etc. that you have been learning from the "Ice man" (I can't think of his name right now).

I don't feel like I've contributed much to the community here yet, but hopefully, in ways that I'm not aware of, I have.

I was just talking about that today, actually. I took a break from it for a trip to Florida, and when I got back I wasn't Reall the motivated to get back into it. I did it solid for almost a month. I'll give an update soon.

Thanks for the encouragement and for all your contributions. I'm so thankful my ideas are worth thinking about. :)

They definitely are worth thinking about. As are many of the comments your posts produce.

Looking forward to the 'Ice Man' update! Also, congratulations on breaking the top 300!

This is awesome and you deserve it. I love the content that you have put out and really enjoy the information about Japan. As a fourth generation, Japanese American I have a large disconnect with the Japanese culture and I've always wanted to reconnect with it. The little insights add knowledge about Japan for me and I'm sure will make my visit there soon much more enjoyable!

I'm really glad to hear it. Thank you for sharing. I really hope that my writing helps make your time here more enjoyable. I don't think you will need any help with that, though. It's a wonderful country to explore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77