Starting a Steemit Blog is a lot like Raising a Baby Calf. A Farmers Thoughts on Steemit and the Future!

in #steemit6 years ago

IMG_2921.JPG

I am by no means an expert on Steemit or any other crypto currency, to be 100% truthful Steemit is the first crypto I have ever owned. What I am an expert (well maybe not an expert but it is how I make a living) is farming.

The way I see it Steemit is a lot like farming. Here at our farm, our primary sources of income (fancy way of saying how we put food on the table and pay our bills) is raising cattle.

How I see it, is that Steemit is like an investment in a young cow. When you first get it you are very excited and it is new and fun. Then you start to realize that if I want this young animal to live it is going to take a lot of work, I have to feed it, water it, provide shelter for it, protect it etc.… Very similar to starting out on Steemit. The first few posts, comments, and upvotes are fun and easy. Then after a while you realize that if my blog here on Steemit is going to be successful it is going to require me to put in a lot of effort, time, and energy

IMG_0242.JPG

Keeping up with the analogy of the young cow to Steemit. As the cow or your Steemit blog grows you start to see the possibilities that this might actually work. Then you get back to the grind of the hard work: taking care of the young cow, feeding, watering, providing shelter, protecting it etc.… Just like you have to keep blogging, keep commenting, and keep upvoting.

IMG_3072.JPG

Then finally one day you look out in the pasture and you realize that, that young cow has finally had a calf. You cannot believe your eyes. You started off with just a little calf and now you have a momma cow who is raising another calf. With Steemit, I hope that one day I will look back and see my first post or remember the days of only having 15 Steem Power and think of how far I have come.

IMG_3071.JPG

As a farmer, one thing I understand is that every good thing takes time. It takes over 2 years from the time that little calf is born until it will produce an offspring that will provide income for our farm. It is going to take time for your Steemit account to grow and provide extra income for you.

I think with the sudden downturn in the Steem and Steem Dollar price this is a good reminder especially for me, that the race of life is not a sprint. It is a long marathon that we all get to run. Keep working hard at whatever you are doing and over time things will start to grow whether it is a baby calf or your Steemit blog.

Sort:  

Excellent post and analogy, everything you said is true and it takes time and dedication to succeed anywhere in life, Bitcoin today is punishing everyone who thinks it is an easy ride and came here to make money quick, Cryptocurrency is not an easy ride and have many challenges to face in order to succeed and make it to mainstream adoption and we still don't know who will succeed and who will fail in the long term as we are still in the early stage like the Internet was in 1994-1996.

Very well said. Thank you for your support and encouragement!

Excellent encouragement, I'm in it for the long haul!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Very good and well thought out post man...reminds me to be patient too!

I hope this means I don't have to slaughter my post in a few years.

Very well said! Perfect comparison too.

Like the calf, steemit has to be nurtured and tended too.

Brilliant!!

Thank you! Also thank you for the resteem. Very much appreciated

Jusy started following your steemit blog. Your got a shoutout from goldendawne. Glad you started using cryptos! Thank your for taking thisn site seriously and writing heartfelt posts

Thank you for following. Have a great day

Nice analogy. Keep on steemin...

THank you. Just checked out your blog page. Good stuff

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Great blog my Kentucky friend. Keep sharing, I have followed you.

I am following you as well my Kentucky friend!

An excellent analogy! Your outlook on Steemit is perfect. I believe that it is longterm and if folks are expecting great gains and megabucks in the short term then they will be disapointed.

Wow loved your post...loved reading it....it's amazing....thank you for sharing good morning have a great day ahead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73