You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Steemit count as commercial usage of content?

in #steemit6 years ago

I myself have been bashed before for using unattributed pictures. And, well, what other choice did I have?

I recommend to deliberately denote pictures with unknown authorship. This way, the image is not unattributed, but attributed as unknown author, which might make people think twice before bashing you.

At the very least, some of them might at least be incentivized to look for the author themselves and give you a heads up.

Sort:  

That may be cool too! I hadn't thought of that. On Qurator, you're required to link to the origin of your pictures, and if you can't, you just can't use those pictures. I find it very discouraging and think that it deters content creation, since sometimes I want to write stuff that is based on a specific picture, and if I were unable to do so, my text would serve no purpose.

At the very least, some of them might at least be incentivized to look for the author themselves and give you a heads up.

And yeap! I always try to find the original author of things if I use them and are not old enough to be of free use. However, I won't spend a whole day on it if it's not warranted. It's only a reasonable effort that I'd expect of anyone as a form of respect to authors and content creators.

Respect to this creator, would mean paying the licensing fee. :-) Linking to the originator avoids Plagiarism, but not Copyright Violation! I hope you understand the difference. Plagiarism is not illegal, but Copyright Infringement is! Using my image and then linking to it does not pay my bills. Copyright last for the life of the photographer + 70 years, by the way. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18