[New App!] STEEMIT.PICS - Steemit Image Viewer & Manager - BETAsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Finally, I have a working BETA of my new Image Based Steemit App Project... I know, I know, took me long enough! Well... hey... I've been busy! Special Thanks to @jamtaylor for getting my ass in gear!

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 4.51.26 PM.png

If your just too excited and rather go check it out now instead of read the "blah blah blah" here's the link: http://steem.cool/IMGManager/ or http://Steemit.pics

STEEMIMG

So... as you all know Steemimg (my dedicated steemit image hosting website) stopped accepting uploads right around the time steemit launched its built-in image hosting, ( which was AWESOME of them to do btw!) simply because steemimg had become completely unneeded, why have images in multiple places taking up precious and expensive space on multiple servers for no reason. It was hard for me to do since I absolutely loved my app and it seemed to be loved by a lot of users (sure did have a lot of images on it, and still does!) but it would have just cost too much in the long run! So this leads me to building out this little but powerful app.

steemit.pics

As usual I tried to create a app that is both user friendly and pleasing to the eye. With a very minimalist approach, I tried to create a tool that would allow steemit users & non users to navigate, experience, & view images by you or any user on the platform. This really opens up a new way to experience a blog via just its imagery, photography, art, animation etc... It also creates an easy way to see all of your own images used (since steemit started hosting images) on blog posts for ease of using them again via embed codes found the view image page or just simple curiosity.

I have a lot of ideas on where to go with this but for now wanted to open it up (pre accounts phase) to a BETA in order to work out any kinks or bugs it might have. So any help would be awesome, leave comments below or reach out to me on steemit.chat

Stay Tuned & Enjoy the Beta!

Here are some awesome screenshots from the app ;)

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 5.27.31 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 4.42.04 PM.png

Current Known Bugs

Images that require variables " ?oh=34753894" etc
Noticed on @mynaturebody's page: http://steemit.pics/IMGManager/view.php?username=mynaturebody

Sort:  

looks great for a beta, nice job!

Thanks! I don't like to release anything that looks ugly or unfinished for a beta lol let me know if you have any thoughts on it

Cool! Keep up the good work of you!

REPORTS FOR NEWBIES JUNE, 16TH 2017

Nice project!

I miss steemimg, but I get why you didn't want to keep spending money on it once it became redundant :)

Good guestion is what do you miss about it? Maybe I can try to bring back all those features and still utilize steemit image server

Woohoo... nice. I used to have to do this.

Now you don't haha glad I could help

Man you killed this great work, love the simplicity very clean!
@jamtaylor glad you stayed on top of him to get this project out!

Thank you very much! Btw your photos look great within the app view, could have easily used your as a screenshot. I should have a shop where you can get a print of these views ;)

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 8.16.06 AM.png

YES PLEASE DO WE NEED A SHOP!!!!!!
Yeah i was really happy with the layout you made looks professional
Thanks allot, Let me know more then welcome to use any photos for the site!
Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 5.10.39 AM.png

Great thanks for this I will take a look.

Cool application. :D

Just some thoughts about a probably nifty feature or functionality that you might consider. Indexing and downloading all images that is in Steem blockchain as some image providers used by the users here in Steem might be shutting down inevitably in the future. :D

😮 download all images , god I don't even want to know the size of that & I surely do not have the space.
Well I got 10 years on my steemimg server Pre paid so it won't be the images on there☝️

Or probably use existing blockchain storage? :D

Well images aren't stored on the blockchain and there isn't a way to do this so there isn't any existing storage. There is one way to include images but as discussed in the past it's just way too much to bare on the blockchain. Check out my old blog post about it : https://steemit.com/steemit-images/@blueorgy/steemit-images-under-1mb-could-be-stored-on-the-blockchain-using-base64

Sorry, what I meant was other blockchains such as Storj and Sia. They act as cloud storage. :D

Storj: https://storj.io/
Sia: http://sia.tech/

Ah Yes, Sia. Well thats defiantly a thought!

Exciting!!!!!!! Great work ! Really excited about this, i will have to try it out tomorrow! Well done! ;)

Thank You! Yes, once you give it a try, let me know what you think!

It's good to see this post in my feed today!

I'm experiencing problems with my latest post and how the thumbnail isn't appearing in the preview/blog list/blog feed. It's just a grey box instead of my photo, which probably cost me views and steem. I was looking for solutions and nothing seemed to work. In the post the all images show up perfectly. I was searching ways on how to correct this issue and I've found that other users were experiencing the same issue 11 months ago. One user suggested using your old website Steemimg which I just joined yesterday with makes seeing this post today pretty funny.

What I think happened was one of two possibilities:

  1. I cut out the image link data while editing my post to move the image down by one paragraph. I'm guessing I should have moved the paragraph by cut and paste instead.

  2. I added a YouTube link in it's HTML embed format throwing off the entire post's coding/formatting, therefore disabling the thumbnail.

If you could help me out with this that would be awesome. I don't know where else to go being so new here.

Did you work this out? I didn't notice any gray box on your blog feed well let me know.

Unfortunately not, I use a 2014 MacBook Pro on the OS Sierra 10.12.5

The browsers I use are: Safari Version 10.1.1 and Chrome Version 58.0.3029.110 (64-bit). Both browsers display a grey box where the photo should be.

Screenshot 2017-06-17 02.38.36.jpg

Neat work I approve. I'm sure everyone appreciates the hard work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34