Strange things on Steemit -- How can new members get in when the door is blocked?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

When I fist joined steemit I just went on posting.

Now, it appears, things have changed for the worst. I got this image from a young man who has just joined but is being stopped from posting:

How can anybody gain more "voting weight" when he's not allowed to vote?

If you have any idea what this means and how it can be corrected, I'll appreciate your comments.

Sort:  

I'm brand new here (3rd day on here I believe) but I encountered that exact same problem when I first joined up. I'm pretty sure it has something to do with the amount of Steem Power you have. So I bought about $13 worth of Steam Power and haven't gotten that error message since.

Hmmmm... this was not the case when I joined 3-plus weeks ago... the way you describe it is that joining steemit is now a PAID process... not good.

yes they to prevent people from abusing the system. They should allow just a little more voting weight.

I wonder how people would abuse the system. By doing "massive" voting? By posting too much? So, who decides how much we can do of both? Are there any rules that say "you can vote only AA times during a 24-hour period" or "you can post only 3 post ever 2 days"???

I guess we need a definitive list of dos and donts/// 40-plus page white papers won't do... anyway, few can make sense of these papers (I tried... not being a cryptocurrency engineer, I failed).

You can only post a blog 4 times in 24 hours, then any blog after that gets reward penalties.

I kind of agree, not good.

Your voting power goes down every time you vote... when you start out your voting power is low so you can only do a couple votes... as you build up power you can vote more often.

That's kind of goofy: the more you vote, the more you loose! ?? Who thought of that and why?

It's not goofy. It prevents mindless voting and abusive voting. Someone could vote on thousands of articles without having read one... how does that benefit the platform?

Also someone could create multiple accounts and have them vote hundreds of times on everything the "main account" puts out... limiting votes is a must if we are to be paid for votes...

There's wisdom in everything, I guess... (kinda)--

More Voting Weight it Is
I Agree On That Too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56662.37
ETH 2982.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15